Top Ten Tuesday: I just picked it up

toptentuesday
Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish

Look at this! I am back on for Top Ten Tuesday this week! Hoping that I am exiting this blogging slump (though don’t be shocked if it’s a slow start! Husband gets back from training and next week finally and then our schedules seem to go a little crazy sooo yea).

This week we are all talking about books we picked up on a whim. My interpretation of this…books that I read without really knowing much going into it. Sometimes I was just told it was good as the book was handed to me and I said “ok,” other times it’s just something I grabbed because I thought “I could like this.” So…here we go:

23395680

  • Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman
    • I would be lying if I said I wasn’t terrified of this book. The hype was intense and all I really understood was that it was science fiction, which is not exactly my thing. But I was looking around the library or some Spring Break reads and there it sat. So after deciding I really had nothing to lose because those days I had nothing to do I went for it. I am definitely glad I did. I was blown away by this book and the unique way it was written. It was definitely worth the hype, though I get if you are hesitant to read it. The hype is intense.
  • 0-545-10708-3How to Say Goodbye in Robot by Natalie Standiford
    • Honestly, this was a book I kind of just heard about. Like it was briefly mentioned somewhere and that was it. I think the title was kind of ridiculous, so when I saw it at the library I figured why not. I must say, it was worth grabbing. It was an entertaining read that did not go the way I had expected it to. I liked the friendship it portrayed and how it wasn’t romance at all. It was a really solid read, and something I probably would never had picked for myself.
  • 19367070Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White
    • This book just happened to be one that I had no clue existed. I had heard absolutely nothing about this book and then I saw it, read the summary, and immediately put it in my pile of books to check out (it’s always a pile to check out at the library isn’t it?). I fell in love with this standalone fantasy and was kind of sad it was over so quickly. Definitely a good book to get lost in without the worry of having tons of books to follow. I am a serial series reader, but I do enjoy a good standalone.
  • ScarletUS.inddScarlet by AC Gaughen
    • Can you believe that one of my FAVORITE SERIES EVER started as something I just picked up on a whim? I remember looking through books for my nook and seeing it. I kind of went back and forth, because the description did sound awesome, and I did love a good Robin Hood tale…but what if it was a crappy retelling? HAHAHA NOT SO MY FRIEND! I devoured this book only to cry once I realized how long it would be until book two. I laughed, I sobbed, I was very emotionally invested. This book was phenomenal. And started a love for a series that I just cannot describe. Pick this series up friends if you have not already.
  • 12700353Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews
    • This is a book I picked up on a whim that did not end so happily. I had just finished TFiOS and was itching for another one like it. I picked this one up, hoping to fall in love. Sadly, I did not. I had some issues with how things were handled, and I just found I didn’t care. I know some people love this book, but it was not for me. Sadly, picking up a book on a whim is not ALWAYS successful, but I was glad I read this book even so.
  • 494320In My Hands: Memories of a Holocaust Rescuer by Irene Gut Opdyke
    • This book was placed in my hands by my mother in law, and I was told it was such a wonderful story. This is complete and total truth. I devoured this book. I don’t know why WWII an the Holocaust are some of my favorite time periods to read about, but they are. I think I like to see people fight for what is right and do what they can to help others. This story is no different. It is a true story of a woman, non-Jewish, helping to keep others safe. It was incredible and I am so glad I read it. If you are into history I would highly recommend this book.
  • 12851538Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
    • This was another book that came from my mother in law. She worked in a high school library and had gotten a bunch of book orders in before we left for vacation, so she had me choose a few. I kind of randomly grabbed this one and the finished it within 24 hours. It was another WWII story that I just devoured. I honestly can’t even explain it. So glad to have randomly selected this book.
  • 10306821Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys
    • Oh look, another WWII story. This is a book I remember ordering, but I don’t remember my exact reasoning for it. I looked at the title. I looked at the description. I looked at the book cover. I decided I had to have it. I did not realize I had just bought a book by one of my soon to be favorite historical fiction authors. I love the way she writes and the way she brings history to life. I am currently diving into her new book and so incredibly excited. This is definitely an author I highly recommend if you like historical fiction.
  • 6604794The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson
    • I pulled this book from the shelves at the library. I kind of looked it over and decided “sure, why not.” Little did I know this book would be the one to really paint a picture of grief that I understood and that I needed to hear. I sobbed through this book. It broke my heart and it gave me something that I felt I could really relate to. As stupid as it sounds, this was the first time I really and truly felt like I wasn’t completely alone in grieving over the loss of a loved one. I think the author did a fantastic job, and I think that if you want to gain some sort of understanding or want to find something you can relate to in the process…read this book.
  • 499118The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor
    • I was just getting into The Hunger Games at this point. I had just decided to buy it and decided if that was a mistake later (IT WAS NOT A MISTAKE FRIENDS) and then I saw this book. It looked intriguing, and the plot sounded kind of cool. So I though “eh, why not” and bought it. So glad I did because this was a series I was totally sucked in to. It was stress relief for my husband and I in college. It was a book series we talked about constantly and sat..hoping there would be a movie. Sadly…no movie was made (which is maybe ok). I was so glad to buy this book at random.

What are some books that you have picked up on a whim?

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: I just picked it up

  1. Great Top Ten! πŸ˜€ The Sky is Everywhere is such a great read! I just LOVE Jandy Nelson’s books. I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next! πŸ˜€ I also tried to read Me and Earl and The Dying Girl, but I just couldn’t get into it. I ended up watching the movie, and sadly, I don’t think I’ll be finishing the book.
    My TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looking back to when I picked up Between Shades of Gray, I remember knowing it’s a WWII book with a Lithuanian character (and I’m like, where the heck is Lithuania?). It was also the book that made me LOVE Ruta Sepetys. I finished her latest book a month ago and completely LOVE it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

