Let’s Talk About…Gravy Mercy by Robin LaFevers

9565548Why be the sheep, when you can be the wolf?

Seventeen-year-old Ismae escapes from the brutality of an arranged marriage into the sanctuary of the convent of St. Mortain, where the sisters still serve the gods of old. Here she learns that the god of Death Himself has blessed her with dangerous gifts—and a violent destiny. If she chooses to stay at the convent, she will be trained as an assassin and serve as a handmaiden to Death. To claim her new life, she must destroy the lives of others.

Ismae’s most important assignment takes her straight into the high court of Brittany—where she finds herself woefully under prepared—not only for the deadly games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. For how can she deliver Death’s vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart?

Add this book to your Goodreads list!

Reaction Upon Finishing:

14537905giphy1badass-i-like-you

Wow. Wow wow wow. I am so sad that I had waited so long to read this. Seriously, it has been on my list for a few years, and it has been on my shelf in my house for the past year. I am so glad that I finally decided to read it and that I can cross off another book on my Rock My TBR list.

So…what exactly is it that I loved about this book:

  • Historical Fiction: This book reminded me SO much of the books that I devoured as a kid. I was very into historical fiction, particularly the medieval times. Reading this book transported me back to the feelings I had while reading as a child. I was excited and giddy and so incredibly pumped to be reading a book that involves duchesses and dukes. Not only that, but the book was largely based on events that actually happened. In the back of the book it is only lightly brushed on, but if you go to Robin LaFevers’ site you can find her author’s note with the history behind it. I just love how much of this was based on things that had actually happened. I think this helps me make further connections to the book and opens my eyes to historical events that I did not know about.
  • Ismae: I absolutely loved Ismae. She comes across as this highly trained assassin that could take you out oh so quickly, but you learn that there is more to her than that. She was strong and independent, but she showed caution. I know this sounds like something that isn’t a positive quality necessarily, but in most instances it really helped her out. She showed the importance of thinking about what you are doing instead of just going on and wrecking havoc. She showed imperfections too, and weakness, which made her more real to me. And even with those things, she never let that slow her down.
  • Plot Balance: I loved how this book was the perfect mix of action, adventure, intrigue, and romance. With a 500 page book I am always worried that the plot will get old or predictable, but not the case with this book. There was enough going on the whole time that I just had to keep reading to know what happened next. I felt that it flowed well and it all worked together to create a book that I came to love. I never felt bored throughout the entire 500 pages.

Bonus: ASSASSIN NUNS! This book was done in a way that you didn’t HAVE to keep reading (but obviously I will)!

I am so glad that I finally dove into this book. I had no doubt in my mind that I would enjoy it, but I didn’t know it would be among some of my favorite books. I definitely recommend this book if you are into historical fiction. I am definitely excited to get in to the next book!

Have you read this book? I would love to know your thoughts.

One thought on “Let’s Talk About…Gravy Mercy by Robin LaFevers

  1. Pingback: Rock My TBR 2016: May Update – MIDWESTERN BOOK NERD

Leave a Reply

