Let’s talk about…The Rose and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

23308084The much anticipated sequel to the breathtaking The Wrath and the Dawn, lauded by Publishers Weekly as “a potent page-turner of intrigue and romance.”
I am surrounded on all sides by a desert. A guest, in a prison of sand and sun. My family is here. And I do not know whom I can trust.
In a land on the brink of war, Shahrzad has been torn from the love of her husband Khalid, the Caliph of Khorasan. She once believed him a monster, but his secrets revealed a man tormented by guilt and a powerful curse—one that might keep them apart forever. Reunited with her family, who have taken refuge with enemies of Khalid, and Tariq, her childhood sweetheart, she should be happy. But Tariq now commands forces set on destroying Khalid’s empire. Shahrzad is almost a prisoner caught between loyalties to people she loves. But she refuses to be a pawn and devises a plan.
While her father, Jahandar, continues to play with magical forces he doesn’t yet understand, Shahrzad tries to uncover powers that may lie dormant within her. With the help of a tattered old carpet and a tempestuous but sage young man, Shahrzad will attempt to break the curse and reunite with her one true love

Add this book to your Goodreads | My Review of The Wrath and the Dawn (book 1)

Initial reaction after finishing: my_heart_bobs_burgers2942237-6105032690-tumbltumblr_inline_nt70d1jk7c1rtzci0_500

I….I can’t…I can’t even….words are super hard guys. Seriously. Super hard. I finished this book 24 hours ago and I just cannot think of anything else. So please..excuse me while I fangirl.

I absolutely loved being back in this world and with these characters (and some excellent new ones). I seriously just…I laid in bed and hugged my book for quite some time after I finished. 13221174_10206543155999274_379145076546604685_oOnce again, this book had the most beautiful writing. It was just magical. The words weaved together so well to create the most beautiful story. I could picture myself there. Picture myself in the desert with these people. I could see everything playing out before me. And these words…these words brought a beautiful romance to life. It brought heartache to life. It brought so much action to my eyes. It was so beautiful, and just as well done as the first book.

“It was because they were two parts of a whole. He did not belong to her. And she did not belong to him. It was never about belonging to someone. It was about belonging together.”

“I prefer the color blue to any other. The scent of lilacs in your hair is a source of constant torment. I despise figs. Lastly, I will never forget, all the days of my life, the memories of last night—
For nothing, not the sun, not the rain, not even the brightest star in the darkest sky, could begin to compare to the wonder of you.”

“‘Since you can’t say it, will you at least tell me how much you love me?’
Khalid ran the tip of his nose beside her ear, a grateful smile upon his lips.
‘From the stars, to the stars.'”

I became so attached to these characters. I was so concerned for them as they faced so many situations throughout the book. This is one of those books that I found myself yelling at. I found myself throwing my book to the side in frustration. I found myself squealing in delight when good things happened. It’s been so long since I have been so heavily invested in a book and in what happens to the characters. So long. I am so glad that I felt the same connection to book two as I did to the first one.

I honestly don’t know what else to say without giving some massive stuff away. There are amazing characters in this book, some new ones. I found that some grew on me, even as I started off the book just hating them. The way their lives connected with each other, and the way they worked together. It worked together oh so well.

And that ending…oh that ending. It was everything. It ended so well, to the point where I don’t feel like there NEEDS to be more but I would still welcome more because I seriously love this world and these people. I need another series like this in my life. tumblr_njvv4mdv011siywdno3_250So…if you haven’t started this series you definitely should. It’s just two books (though a few novellas in there as well which I obviously need to get my hands on) and it is a beautiful and magical romance in the land of a fairy tale that I absolutely adore. It is well worth the read, and I am so sad there is no more.

Have you read this book, or this series? I would love to know your thoughts (and to have people to fangirl over this wonderful book with).

3 thoughts on “Let’s talk about…The Rose and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: 2016 Releases I Loved! – MIDWESTERN BOOK NERD

Leave a Reply

