Top Ten Tuesday: FREEBIE

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish
Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is a freebie, which fills me with mixed emotions. First I think YAY I can think of something awesome and then I think BOO I have to think of something awesome. After a lot of thought I decided to share what I am passionate about, and that is getting kids to have that love of reading. As you know, I work at a daycare with 4 and 5 year olds. My feelings towards the job in general are all over the place, but the one thing I love without a doubt is reading to them. I love reading pictures books and reading chapter books and getting them excited about it. This was something I was fortunate enough to participate in while I was working at a library back home and is something I miss dearly. So this week I want share with you the Top Ten Picture books I like to read to kids. 

  1. BIBLE STORIES: The daycare I work at is a church based daycare, and I must say…I love to read them stories from the children’s bible that I have (which I cannot find a link or anything because I cannot for the life of me remember the title). Kids just pick up so much from these and they love to listen to them over and over. My classes have really enjoyed this and it is a blessing for me to listen to them talk about God and what he has done. 
  2. ANYTHING BY MO WILLEMS: This guys has some amazing and hilarious stories that kids absolutely love. The Elephant and Piggie books are awesome for trying to help kids understand speech bubbles and to even get them to be able to read a little bit. And that Pigeon…his books are funny. I honestly can’t say that I have met a kid that dislikes something written by Mo Willems. Definitely an author I should start collecting in my own library. 
  3. COUNT THE MONKEYS: Oh man, this book is one that you are told you are going to count Monkeys BUT…things happen to prevent that. Silly things. There still is some counting involved, but those monkeys are just nowhere to be found. The kids in my class love seeing the silly things that happen and love trying to see if MAYBE, just maybe, there is a monkey hidden somewhere on the page. 
  4. BLUEBERRIES FOR SAL: This is a classic book. A book that I remember being read to as a kid and one that I have had lots and lots of experience with. It’s just that fun story about what happens when you aren’t really paying attention to what you’re doing. It also teaches us that bears are just as scared of us as we are of them. It is always shocking to me just how involved kids get with this book. It’s amazing. It can definitely keep the room quiet for a few minutes. 
  5. THERE WAS AN OLD LADY WHO SWALLOWED…: These books are just downright ridiculous. The lady keeps swallowing the most random and absurd things that no one in their right mind would try to even fit into their mouth. It’s kind of gross when you really think about it, but its a giant puzzle and the kids love trying to figure out why in the world she is swallowing all of these ridiculous things. 
  6. CHU’S DAY: These books are the cutest things ever. They are very simple so the kids can really pay attention to what is happening, and they get plenty of time to laugh along with what happens to poor Chu. This is a book that once I have it in my room the kids are constantly asking to have it read to them. Between the adorable pictures and the simple yet fun writing this book is a hit. 
  7. CAPS FOR SALE: This book has kids looking at colors and patterns and counting and then getting mad when those goofy monkeys take all the caps. I have no idea what it is about this book, because some of the things about this book are rather dated, but they absolutely love it. They get angry when the caps are gone and they like to try to guess what’s going to happen next. 
  8. THE MONSTER AT THE END OF THIS BOOK: This is an absolute favorite. I have kids that have it memorized and will just recite it to their friends and act it out. You gotta love Grover and his irrational fear of the Monster that is apparently at the end of the story and the lengths that he will go just to prevent getting there. It’s full of silliness and definitely one that needs to be acted out (such as there is a page where Grover doesn’t find the reader strong enough to turn the page). This is definitely one that every child needs to hear. 
  9. OLIVIA: Oh the Olivia books are definitely among my own personal favorite and I would love to own them. Olivia is just the goofiest pig and the things she does has you shaking your head. The kids love reading what kind of trouble Olivia is about to get herself into and the crazy ideas that she comes up with. This is another one that I have read over and over and over and I have read nearly all of her books, not just Olivia. It’s a classic and a favorite. 
  10. OLIVER JEFFERS BOOKS: This man comes up with books that even have adults laughing. I remember reading one of his books (Stuck) during story time and one of the parents was cracking up (the kids were laughing too, but you could tell they didn’t fully get it like this parent). The humor in these books are awesome and the things that the kids can learn are great too (like you can be friends with anyone no matter how different, or about helping others). I absolutely love his books and hope to add them to my own collection.

There are SO many books I could have added to this list, but I had to make cuts somewhere. There are just tons of fun picture books to read to kids. I love ones that get kids predicting what will happen next without realize that they’re doing it and ones that get them involved and have them really listening and picking out meaning.

Any books you think I missed that I should add? What’s your favorite picture book?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: FREEBIE

  1. this is SUCH a fun idea for this week’s freebie! I felt the SAME WAY when i saw that this week was a freebie: “This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is a freebie, which fills me with mixed emotions. First I think YAY I can think of something awesome and then I think BOO I have to think of something awesome.” sometimes i see other people’s post ideas, and they’re so much cooler than mine and i get discouraged! but i think i just need to learn to plan further in advance so that when we do get a freebie, i have more time to think of a topic and don’t feel rushed!

    I loved Olivia when i was little, so i’m sure the children you are working with will feel the same! i think that’s great that you get to encourage young kids to love reading! parents are so busy these days that alot of the kids i interact with when babysitting or nannying don’t get the attention they need when it comes to learning to read or write.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha I know right!? I feel like this is the first time my idea didn’t fall flat on its face. Thanks! Reading to kids is basically the highpoint of my day, and I always try to make it fun. You can definitely tell which kids don’t get it at home, and I would hate to have them miss out on something that can really help them in life and can give them a place to just relax. And oh do I love Olivia. Ha I need to bring one of her books in for my new group to see how they like her, but my old class loved her

      Like

Leave a Reply

