Throwback Thursday: Fantasy Week

Hey everyone!

qo2g1ip

Sorry we have been gone lately, been pretty busy with outside life. We recently had a little brainstorm session and are excited with some of the ideas we came up with to move this awesome page forward. Good thing is, you don’t have to wait long to see some of the new stuff we are going to do here at Midwestern Book Nerd. Welcome to….THROWBACK THURSDAY!

Throwback Thursday

We were inspired by that fantastic social media trend of sharing some type of throwback on Thursday. We can’t even begin to tell you how often we have participated in it in other places, so why not do it here? We are going to go back and talk about everything that we enjoyed as kids whether that be books, movies, music or even some random topics. We always love to talk/reflect on things we loved doing as kids and we want to share those awesome memories with you!

To start things off… in honor of Fantasy week in the book world, we are telling you about our favorite Fantasy novels we read as kids.

Arika:

the lion the witch and the wardrobe

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis – Growing up, I always loved the book fair at school. Tons of different books I could choose from and my parents would let me get a few books each year. Well I remember having to read this in the 5th grade and I got the whole box set for the Chronicles of Narnia from the book fair. I absolutely loved them and will definitely be reading these to my kids someday. There was something magical about going to another land where you become kings and queens and help stop an evil queen from ruining the lives of everyone. We even got to go see the play after we read the book. I always recommend this book to kids in elementary school because it is a great story that they can easily read or can read along with parents. It definitely makes my top 5 list for best Fantasy series ever written!

Emily:

24337Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine – I have said it time and time again, I am a sucker for fairy tales and retellings. If I had to pick a book in my childhood that started it all I would have to say it was this one. My mom picked this book up for me on a whim, knowing that it sounded like a totally Emily book (I was a BIG princess fan as a kid). She was 100% right. I fell completely and totally in love with Ella of Frell. I was hooked instantly and found myself immersed in her world, laughing with her and cheering her on as she worked her way out of terrible situations. This was also the first time I had a fictional crush (thanks Char) and found myself swept away by a romance that I knew just needed to happen! After I finished this book my mom bought me more books by Gail Carson Levine and after I devoured those I searched the shelves of the library, because those books made me feel so good and I wanted that feeling again. To this day I still list it as one of my favorite books. I may not have LOVED the movie adaptation (they ended up being two totally different things with a few similar elements) but I loved the book and shoved it into the hands of anyone interested.

QUESTION: Do you have a favorite fantasy book from your childhood?

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Fantasy Week

  1. I was more familiar with the old BBC Chronicles of Narnia made-for-TV movies for quite a while (“Where did you get…all these THINGS?!”), but I enjoyed the books once I got there. The Horse and His Boy is probably my favorite Narnia book. Loved Ella Enchanted, and I really liked The Two Princesses of Bamarre too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Throwback Thursday: Tunes on Repeat

Leave a Reply

