3 Reasons to Read: No Good Deed by Kara Connolly

no good deedEllie Hudson is the front-runner on the road to gold for the U.S. Olympic archery team. All she has to do is qualify at the trials in jolly old England. When Ellie makes some kind of crazy wrong turn in the caverns under Nottingham Castle—yes, that Nottingham—she ends up in medieval England.

Ellie doesn’t care how she got to the Middle Ages; she just wants to go home before she gets the plague. But people are suffering in Nottingham, and Ellie has the skills to make it better. What’s an ace archer to do while she’s stuck in Sherwood Forest but make like Robin Hood?

Pulled into a past life as an outlaw, Ellie feels her present fading away next to daring do-gooding and a devilishly handsome knight. Only, Ellie is on the brink of rewriting history, and when she picks up her bow and arrow, her next shot could save her past—or doom civilization’s future.

Add to your Goodreads | More about the Author | Purchase this book

*We both received a copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This in no way changes our thoughts.*

Our reactions after finishing:

Arika:

I am a fanatic when it comes to any kind of retelling. And when I saw the description for No Good Deed, I knew I would need to read it. Especially it being Robin Hood. I mean, who doesn’t love adventures in the medieval times with some awesome archery skills included! I have to say this was a different retelling then I am used to…but I really enjoyed it and I was entertained by all the characters in the book. Whether I was laughing out loud at Will Scarlett, or holding my breath when Ellie decided to try a crazy shot with her bow, there were many enjoyable moments in Nottingham. And with that, here are my 3 reasons you should grab this book.

  1. Humor: There was a good bit of humor, especially in the scenes with Will Scarlet. Oh there were a few times that I was actually laughing out loud. I really enjoyed all the scenes with Robin’s “Merry Men” and even had a few giggles when Ellie had to try and explain herself because of how she acted (the darn time travel).
  2. Main Character: Ellie was a very relate-able and cool main character. She is a competitive athlete in archery and is actually in the Olympics at the beginning of the book, which was a good set up for this story. I was immediately drawn to her and really loved her witty sense of humor when communicating with other characters. I also really enjoyed how she adapted to the time travel, being a 21st century young adult in the 1200’s would have seemed impossible for me!
  3. Setting: I am a sucker for stories set in England/The United Kingdom. I have always loved that area of the world and especially the folktales that come from that area during the medieval time period. It seems like it is always a good adventure going on and this book was no exception. Camping out in the woods, being in a convent, or even the Nottingham castle where the infamous sheriff lived, there was a lot of different places explored in the book. All the descriptions transported me across time and places, and I never felt bored.

Emily:

Time Travel + Robin Hood retelling!? Sign. Me. Up. I am a sucker for Robin Hood retellings and just knew that I had to read it. Honestly…I was not disappointed. This was a very unique and fast paced retelling that had me constantly guessing. I read this book in just a few short sittings, which is not normal for me. I was completely sucked into this version of Nottingham and the adventures that Ellie had. So…what are my 3 reasons that you should pick up this book?

  1. Time Traveling Robin Hood: Ok, I know I kind of already said that but hear me out. This book started in the modern day with Ellie at an archery  competition. In a twist of events Ellie finds herself back in the time of the Robin Hood legend in wonderful Nottingham. Time travel is tough for me, but this one really got me. I love that we didn’t get a plot where Ellie just magically fit in. We see her struggle with being much more modern than everyone else. Her speech, her verbal expressions, everything was a bit too much for the time period. I think that this really added to the story and to Ellie as she worked her way through this story.
  2. Strong characters: I really found that I came to love Ellie. It’s not shocking that I love the characters of the Robin Hood legend (remember…I’m a sucker for it), but Ellie was a struggle. At the beginning I was none to thrilled with her. I thought she was kind of whiny and just not handling things well. Throughout this book we ended up seeing Ellie grow, and in turn she started to become my favorite character. She learned so much and became a stronger and more independent character that we had seen at the beginning of the book.
  3. Adventure: This book really just felt like I was going on an adventure. I felt like I was sucked in with Ellie running around Nottingham and hanging out with all those characters I have read about so many times. It made me think that I should really learn archery, and it really gave me the urge to get up a do something. Because of this book such an adventure I felt the pacing was perfect. It moved constantly with the plot which really helped give it that adventurous feel. This book was a great getaway from the real world, and if that is something that you want then I highly recommend it!

We think it’s safe to say that we both really enjoyed this book. We weren’t entirely sure what we would get when diving into this book because this Robin Hood tale is so special to us, but we were pleasantly surprised. This book comes out on July 18th! You should definitely get your hands on a copy soon!

QUESTION: What are some of your favorite retellings?

2 thoughts on “3 Reasons to Read: No Good Deed by Kara Connolly

  1. Kel

    I’d hadn’t heard of this one before! Thanks for bringing it to my attention! You know I’m a sucker for retellings (especially those based on fairy tales), but I love reimaginings of other classic tales too. I still love Robin McKinley’s “Outlaws of Sherwood,” and for Austen retellings, I really liked “For Darkness Shows the Stars.” Great reviews, guys!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Arika (onceuponabookishnerd)

      I am such a sucker too for retellings! It comes out next week so definitely check it out. (also if you like Robin Hood reimaginings check out Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen too!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

