Let’s Talk About…Follow Me Back by AV Geiger

32470611Tessa Hart’s world feels very small. Confined to her bedroom with agoraphobia, her one escape is the online fandom for pop sensation Eric Thorn. When he tweets to his fans, it’s like his speaking directly to her…

Eric Thorn is frightened by his obsessive fans. They take their devotion way too far. It doesn’t help that his PR team keeps posting to encourage their fantasies.

When a fellow pop star is murdered at the hands of a fan, Eric knows he has to do something to shatter his online image fast—like take down one of his top Twitter followers. But Eric’s plan to troll @TessaHeartsEric unexpectedly evolves into an online relationship deeper than either could have imagined. And when the two arrange to meet IRL, what should have made for the world’s best episode of Catfish takes a deadly turn…

Told through tweets, direct messages, and police transcripts.

Add this book to Goodreads | Purchase this book | More about AV Geiger

I received a copy of this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not sway my opinion in any way.

Initial reactions upon finishing:

HOLY. CRAP. The two words I uttered over and over again as I sat and stared at a finished book. This book was a page turner and had me constantly on the edge of my seat. It had a little bit of everything – action, intrigue, romance, humor, TERRIFYING MOMENTS! I finished this in a matter of a few days, which is a huge feat when I am in the middle of dealing with so much work stuff. So what was it that worked for me?

  • Characters I could relate to. I do not have agoraphobia as Tessa does, and I am not a famous celebrity like Eric. I am, however, a human being…one that deals with my own forms of anxiety and insecurities. Both Tessa and Eric have some anxiety, insecurities, and a lot of self-doubt. Though our reasons are different for these feelings I found that a lot of their story really hit home in some areas for me. I think we can all relate to holing up in social media sometimes, because we can be someone that we aren’t. I understood why both Tessa and Eric took solace in it, found relief in talking to each other on there. This is a situation that so many of us understand. On top of that they were both pretty funny and I really enjoyed their online banter. They were strong characters who were doing their best to move past their fears. This is a strength that really grew throughout the book as various situations came up. I loved that you could see them grow up and become more than they were before.
  • A reminder of internet safety. I think this book really had me thinking about my interactions on the internet and how genuine they are. Also had me thinking about how much I reveal about myself. There are so many people on the internet…so many. And each person is a different type of person, which is both good and bad. Though I think I have mostly run into the good I can honestly never be sure. There is so much unknown. There are so many good things. I have met a lot of awesome people online and have fallen into a lot of positive and welcoming communities here, but I also never know when I might fall into something bad. Be safe on the internet everyone. Be smart. Be safe.
  • Page turning thriller. This book really did have a bit of everything. It tackled some tough issues, like various phobias and mental illnesses. It showed characters opening themselves up to something that seemed scary and coming out with friends on the other side. This book had a romance that started to blossom and had you aching in your chest. There were plot twists and turns that I had either forgotten about or just didn’t pay attention to. This book got super creepy and I found myself unable to put it down. There were so many questions that I just needed answers for. I honestly could not get enough of this book.

This book had me hooked from the beginning, and as the story continued to build I found myself more and more involved in it’s plot. I would think I would predict one thing and then it would turn out to be wrong and I would get comfortable. I learned the hard way that getting comfortable is so wrong…so very wrong. I was reminded that ANYTHING can happen, even if you only have a few pages left in the book. BECAUSE OH MY GOSH THAT ENDING YOU GUYS!

This book comes out on June 6th, 2017. Make sure you get your hands on this thriller right away.

emily

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About…Follow Me Back by AV Geiger

Leave a Reply

