Let’s Talk About…Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott

violet-grenadeDOMINO: A runaway with blood on her hands.

CAIN: A silent boy about to explode.

MADAM KARINA: A woman who demands obedience.

WILSON: The one who will destroy them all.

When Madam Karina finds Domino in an alleyway, she offers her a position at her girls’ home in secluded West Texas. With no alternatives and an agenda of her own, Domino accepts. It isn’t long before she is fighting her way up the ranks to gain the madam’s approval…and falling for Cain, the mysterious boy living in the basement.
But the madam has horrible secrets. So do the girls in the house. So does Cain. Escaping is harder than Domino expects, though, because the madam doesn’t like to lose inventory. But then, Madam Karina doesn’t know about the danger living inside Domino’s mind.
Madam Karina doesn’t know about Wilson.

Add this book to Goodreads | About the Author | Buy this book

*I received an e-copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

Initial reaction upon finishing:

This book was an intense ride that I could not put down. Once I finished I started to think about my expectations of this book, and I honestly can’t even remember what they were. I knew it sounded thriller-eque, and I knew it sounded like a book about someone wrestling their inner demons which are two things I was definitely wanting in a book. In the end what I got was so much more…it was a story about overcoming those obstacles in your past and finding your people. It’s about facing down those terrible moments and finding a way to rise above them. This book got dark and went to some places that I was not entirely prepared for…I was constantly turning pages and dying to know what was going to happen next.

So…what are some of the reasons that I really enjoyed this book?

  • It’s YA but borders adult so much. When reading books like this I honestly don’t understand what the line is. I get that the characters involved are young adults, but the situations are so adult. The situations get dark. There is murder and blood-thirst and the need for characters to release their darker selves. It’s a sad reminder that so many young people are exposed to things darker than we adults could ever imagine. I can imagine that this book will do well with a wide variety of readers.
  • Domino is a force to be reckoned with. When you meet her at the beginning of the book she is scared. She has so much in her past that she is constantly hiding, and she has Wilson. Throughout the book she really starts to come into her own. She sees the need to fight for what is right and for those that she is started to become attached to. And honestly, you have to give the girl credit once you do figure out her past. She has seen more than I have ever seen, done more dark and horrible things than I have ever done, and yet she seems to be doing ok. Obviously there’s issues and she clearly needs to see someone, but she is functioning as well as any person in her situation could ever ask for. And she grows. She starts to realize that it’s ok to be on her own, but it’s also ok to rely on someone you can trust. Her confidence skyrockets and becomes a character that I am really cheering for. She is a main character that I can get behind.
  • Cain and Poppet are perfection. First you have Cain, this quiet guy that you know has more to tell than what he is letting on. He comes across as this strong, tough guy that you don’t want to mess with, but in the end he is a big softie to those he cares for. He protects and takes care of the girls in the house, even when they belittle him. He is a man caught in the game of blaming yourself for something that isn’t entirely your own fault. He grows and matures a lot throughout this book and I really started to like him. Poppet is one I struggled with at first. I found her to be weak and unsure of herself, which she was. Once she is taken under Domino’s wings she grows. She also starts to really gain confidence in herself and eventually is capable of so much more than she had ever imagined. I think I could see a little bit of myself in her. I am unsure, cautious, and not always confident in my abilities. I get her, and I think that’s why it took so long to warm up to her. I am so glad that she grew on me.
  • This book was a page turner. I tend to be a bit of a slow reader unless I have nothing but hours of time to dedicate to reading. Even on those days I tend to kind of take my time getting through a book. I finished this book in just a couple of sittings. I was hooked at the beginning. The writing drew me in and I was intrigued to see where this was going and what would be happening with Domino. The further I got into the book the more I realized I couldn’t put it down. There were so many things happening with the plot, so many questions that I had, and I just found that I couldn’t stop. I only kind of predicted some things, but many of the plot twists caught me by surprise and I was floored by what had happened in so many of these character’s lives. It’s a dark, slightly mess up book that has you begging for more.

All in all, this book was a hard to put down ride that constantly had me guessing. I was shocked by how deeply I cared for the characters in the end (because how many times do you read thrillers that you find you don’t care at all for the characters. Looking at you Gone Girl). I wanted the best for them, ever step of the way, and I was heartbroken when things didn’t work out as planned. I am so glad that I was able to read this book, and I definitely think that you should give it chance. Who knows…this could be your thriller that you take to the beach.

This book comes out on May 2nd, 2017. Make sure to grab a copy for yourself!

QUESTION: What are some of your favorite thrillers (if you read thrillers)?

emily

One thought on “Let’s Talk About…Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott

Leave a Reply

