Let’s Talk About…Geekerella by Ashley Poston

30201136Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.
Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise. But when she disappears at midnight, will he ever be able to find her again?
Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom.

Add to Goodreads | About the Author | Buy this book

Initial thoughts after finishing:

tumblr_mw19dlczsl1sgebu3o1_250tumblr_mvxnhxp2mt1sj1qeho1_r1_400tumblr_nj06bybqb11smcbm7o1_250giphy2

Oh. My. Gosh. This book was completely and totally adorable in every single way. I am a huge sucker for Cinderella stories, and this one did not disappoint. Ashley Poston did an excellent job of bringing it into a world that a lot of us really understand and can relate to. I ate up every single word and found myself flying through this book (and regretting flying through this book because then it’s over and I have nothing left).  So, what are some of my takeaways….

  • Cinderella retelling! Yes, I know that retellings of this particular story can get old, but I don’t think this one falls into that category. I think that this one felt fresh, modern, and one that we can all kind of relate to. These days it common to be a part of a fandom if you are online. I can’t say I am 100% in one, but I know many people that are. This fact alone brings this Cinderella story into a world that we all kind of understand. Yes, it is a BIT far fetched for you to be the Cinderella in this story, texting the new lead of a reboot and falling in love with him, but we can dream right?
  • Elle and Darien! Ok, so it’s a good thing that I like the Cinderella and Prince Charming of the story right? Obviously they fit the stereotypical roles, but something about these two are different. Elle is something that I can relate to. She seems to be comfortable with who she is online, but who she is in person she is a little unsure of. She is a bit shy and really just figuring herself out. Darien is the movie star, the guy that everyone is in love with (and after this book I think I could join that group). He shows us that there is more to a person than what meets the eye. He is criticized for being the pretty boy, in it for the money…but in the end he is just as nerdy as Elle and wanting to do this reboot justice.
  • Swoons! I got VERY invested in the romance of this book. I loved how it started as texts from strangers. They got to bond over whatever they were talking about and not how they look or anything like that. It was almost a way for them to get to know each other on a deeper level before even seeing if there was a physical attraction (no worries, there was). I love how this book progressed from there, and gave me many moments to scream about why they weren’t together yet and nothing romantic had happened yet. It really built and kind of had me in tears in the end (ok, I was in tears. I am such a sucker for Cinderella stories guys!).
  • Friendships! Elle develops a friendship with a young woman named Sage, often referred to in negative ways because of the way she dresses. In reality, Sage is a force to be reckoned with. She takes what is hers without really thinking about the consequences. She is brutally honest, but in the best sort of way. And she would do anything, ANYTHING, for a friend. She proves that time and time again with Elle.  She gives Elle a friend when there isn’t anyone else to turn to. She gives her a family that she hasn’t had in years. Sage became one of my favorite characters.

Bonus: Pop culture references galore, Cal because someone I could tolerate, Evil stepmother was pure evil, OMG I CRIED A LITTLE GUYS!

I am so happy with how this book turned out. I was hooked from the beginning and seriously believe that I would have finished it in a day if I didn’t need to work. I found myself completely lost in this world and wanting to be a part of the Starfield fandom. I was sold on every aspect of this Cinderella story, even though we all know some of the parts won’t really happen. This was such a cute retelling of a classic fairy tale. I highly recommend you scroll right on up and buy this book. Seriously. You do not want to miss out. It comes out tomorrow (April 4th!)

QUESTION: What are some of your favorite retellings?

3 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About…Geekerella by Ashley Poston

  1. My review for this went live this morning as well. I can’t stop fangirling over this book. I’m totally buying it went it’s released on Tuesday.

    My favorite retelling…. ooo that’s hard. Bookwise: Sister’s Red by Jackson Pearce. But I’m also partial to the tv show OUAT and the musical Wicked.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I love OUAT! Though I seem to only be able to binge it when it’s on netflix. It’s just a binge-worthy show in my eyes.

      So glad you read this one too! I just absolutely adored it and cannot stop thinking about it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

