Why You Should Read A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi

29939047Gauri, the princess of Bharata, has been taken as a prisoner of war by her kingdom’s enemies. Faced with a future of exile and scorn, Gauri has nothing left to lose. Hope unexpectedly comes in the form of Vikram, the cunning prince of a neighboring land and her sworn enemy kingdom. Unsatisfied with becoming a mere puppet king, Vikram offers Gauri a chance to win back her kingdom in exchange for her battle prowess. Together, they’ll have to set aside their differences and team up to win the Tournament of Wishes—a competition held in a mythical city where the Lord of Wealth promises a wish to the victor.

Reaching the tournament is just the beginning. Once they arrive, danger takes on new shapes: poisonous courtesans and mischievous story birds, a feast of fears and twisted fairy revels.

Every which way they turn new trials will test their wit and strength. But what Gauri and Vikram will soon discover is that there’s nothing more dangerous than what they most desire.

Add to Goodreads | More about Roshani Chokshi | Buy this Book

Initial thoughts after finishing this book:

when-your-friend-freaks-out-over-real-housewives8676015tumblr_inline_nt70d1jk7c1rtzci0_500

Wow guys. Just wow. If you remember, I reviewed A Star-Touched Queen way back when, and though I loved the book and it’s writing, I really struggled with the world. NOT THIS TIME! I think I was more prepared for it this time, and I think that there was more that I connected with. This book followed different characters, and the things that these characters dealt with in the plot created even more of a page turner in my eyes. I really liked A Star-Touched Queen, but I LOVED A Crown of Wishes. Why did I love this book?

  1. The writing. Roshani has, once again, blown me away with her writing. She created this absolutely gorgeous world that I am always longing to learn more about. The world lived alongside with the plot. It changed as the story changed. It created more questions for the characters, more challenges for them. It evolved with them. And the plot…OH MAN THE PLOT. It was full of twists and turns, full of ways to further develop the characters and get them to think about what was happening. Her writing is perfection.
  2. Guari and Vikram. Unlike A Star- Touched Queen, this story follows Guari and Vikram as they compete in the Tournament of Wishes. Though I loved Maya and Amar I felt like I connected even more with Guari and Vikram. Something about these two characters just clicked with me. The banter between the two of them was fabulous. I felt like I got to know the personalities of them within the first couple chapters of the book. They fed off of each other so well, even with the feelings of somewhat dislike between the two of them. You watch their relationship grow and develop until the feels kind of hit you hard. I won’t give much more away about them, but MAN did they give me a serious case of the swoons. Both were tough individuals that could easily hold their own but relied on each other to get even further. I loved watching them grow and make more sense of the world and their lives.
  3. The Tournament of Wishes. I really though this was cool. I was constantly left guessing because this tournament did not follow a particular pattern. I thought winning two trials and making a sacrifice seemed pretty straightforward, but there were so many things that I didn’t even think of that happened. This is a tournament that challenged the characters and helped them to grow beyond what they even thought they were capable of. I loved that the book centered around this, but yet added a little more at the end.

BONUS: Aasha (new character that was honestly a friend I would love to have), Fantastic ending, feels galore.

I absolutely loved this addition to The Star-Touched Queen story line. I found that when I did have the time to sit down and read (I got busy for a bit and reading just didn’t happen as often as I wanted it to) that I was unable to stop. Definitely on the list of one of my favorite reads of 2017 so far. If you haven’t read this series, I highly recommend you start. And if you were unsure of continuing, I think you should reconsider. This book blew me away. It comes out TOMORROW (March 28th, 2017). Don’t miss out!

QUESTION: Have you read this series? I would love to hear your thoughts!

emily

Leave a Reply

