“But I have the conch!”-Emily Reads Lord of the Flies

I don’t think I am alone when I say that there are a lot of Classics that I haven’t read. I think I have at least an entire shelf of classics that I SWEAR I am going to get to soon, but it never happens. Lord of the Flies by William Golding was one of the books on that shelf.

84943

I was feeling like I was reading a lot of fantasy a few weeks back. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good fantasy. But sometimes you read too much of a particular genre and it starts to blend. You get to the point where you just need a break. I was there, so I asked my husband to pick a book for me. He stared at the shelves for awhile and walked back with this book (making sure to let me know this was one of his favorites). With that pressure in mind I gave it a shot, and really enjoyed it. In the end, there is ONE thing that Lord of the Flies taught me….

I really need a conch.

tumblr_inline_mlkq8ckffs1qz4rgp

Think about it. That conch seems to have powers over everyone. If you are holding on to it then everyone is listening to you. It has the power to stop EVERYTHING  and get all the eyes on you. That conch would save me a lot of trouble. The students I work with would obviously listen to me more as would my family. Don’t act like you guys don’t tune me out from time to time.

tenor

The conch has the power to call assemblies. If something really important needs to be said or discussed all you need to do is blow into the conch and it will happen. This means that all the times when I need help at my house I would simply blow into it and all who lived with me would come running. And since I would already be holding it they would listen to every word I was saying.

giphy

The conch gives you an idea of who you should focus on, and tells others to be quiet. When Piggy was holding the conch everyone was supposed to be listening. If someone else wanted to talk after him he would just pass it off so that they could talk. If I had a conch I would avoid the confusion that comes with everyone talking at the same time. I would be able to get what I needed to say out and then to pass it off so someone could add in.

you-will-listen-to-every-damn-word-i-say-gif

The conch would make a great decorative piece. The conch is fairly big, colorful, and kind of shiny. Can you imagine what that would look like in one of your more decorative shelves? I think it would be a definite conversation starter.

10417943_2

Seriously, I need a conch.

But in all seriousness, I did enjoy Lord of the Flies. Is it my favorite classic ever? Nope. But I do think it was worth the read. I think it’s an excellent lesson in how you treat people and on the importance of knowing the facts before jumping to conclusions. It shows the importance of working as a team and shows what can happen when we don’t. It was dark and a bit gruesome. There were definite things that I was not fully anticipating happening, but I got through it. Not having it as required reading probably helped in my liking it, but I did enjoy a lot of the books that I read in high school so who knows.

I am pretty excited to have knocked a classic off of my TBR. I wonder which classic I should tackle next.

QUESTION: What are some of your favorite classics? Also, do you have a conch?

5 thoughts on ““But I have the conch!”-Emily Reads Lord of the Flies

  1. ichabod2014ic

    ‘Lord of the Flies’ was too dark for me. {When I read it 40 years ago.}
    Yes, I have a conch.
    My favorite ‘classic’ is ‘Treasure Island’. It holds up well.
    Happy Reading!
    ~Icky. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahaha, this was great! A conch certainly does sound like it would solve a lot of problems!

    I wasn’t a huge fan of this book when I “read” it, but that probably has more to do with the class I had to read it for. I was in a class that had a “special” teacher — she went around with a few of the kids who needed extra attention for one reason or another and made sure that content was easy enough for them / they were able to keep up. Nothing wrong with that, but it meant that we were assigned reading of, like, a chapter a night (seriously, that’s it), and then she would READ that chapter aloud to us the next day and point out VERY simple thoughts along the way. And it drove me NUTS. I imagine that if I voluntary revisited it now I wouldn’t have any problems with it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh gosh. That would be really difficult for me too. I can’t imagine how awful that book would be after all of that. I figure making it assigned reading is never a good thing, but oh man…that would be a bummer. But you got through it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

