Catching Up on books with Emily

Hi guys! I feel like it’s been FOREVER since I have talked to you about what I have been reading. As far as books go, I have been slaying the reading portion and failing on the reviewing portion. I have been feeling a lot of stress and anxiety lately, and I think I escape into books so much easier than I do reviews. But I hope that’s about to change.

giphy1

I have reading quite a bit this year. I have gotten really into listening to audiobooks while I am driving lately, which has really helped me to knock some books out of my TBR. Today I am just going to talk about a few of the books I read. I do have a couple that I am working on entire posts for due to various reasons, but the books listed below are all fantastic. I have really enjoyed the reading I have accomplished this year so far, and honestly…very few low starred books for me. So, without further ado…here is what I have been reading…

crowns

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

One of the reasons this book doesn’t get it’s own post from me is because Arika has already discussed this book not too long ago. I was so on the fence about this book, but Arika changed my mind. And I was pretty excited to find the audiobook at my library so I could dive right in. At first this book confused me. I understood that there were 3 sisters, but I didn’t quite understand the transition between all of them. As the book progressed I became more familiar with how it was set up and was able to really enjoy it. I really enjoyed this story. The choice of taking it slow with the writing in the beginning really worked in the author’s favor, in my opinion. Because of how she wrote the book we were able to really get to know each of the sisters. We got to know how each of them go about their days and how different (and somewhat similar) their personalities were. Because we got to know them in that way the action was much more intense and the ending was that much more shocking. What a dark story. I am definitely going to be looking into the next book when it comes out, and am super excited to see what comes of it’s adaptation.

28574949

The Moth & The Flame by Renee Ahdieh

If you know me then you know that I am absolutely in love with The Wrath and the Dawn duology. So when I FINALLY had the opportunity to read one of the short stories…well, I jumped on it. I absolutely loved reading about Despina before The Wrath and the Dawn started. It gave me a little bit of a taste of what she has always been like, and the type of person she is. Also, I love Jalal, so this was a fantastic story to read. Obviously you need to wait to read this until after you have finished the duology. Gives away a few spoilers, and it kind of dives right into the story without really giving you any hint to the world and what happens in it. A quick read, a fabulous read, a wonderful trip back into a world I love so much.

Hawkeye volumes 4, 5, and 6 by various authors

I am a sucker for the Hawkeye graphic novels. I absolutely loved the first three, and I loved who the authors made Hawkeye to be. He is just your average guy that seems to be super gifted with a bow and arrow. These stories follow him as he continues to live his life and deal with the consequences of his actions. I was a little worried because 1-4 are done made by one set of authors and then 5 and 6 are done by another set. I was worried the art would change and the story wouldn’t be the same, but it all worked out. I really liked taking a break from all the longer books and series I have been reading to go back into the Marvel world. Graphic novels are something I am still trying to read more of, and I am glad that I was able to read more Hawkeye.

27272506

The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead

This was another audiobook that I started listening to on my drives to and from work, and oh.my.gosh. I was absolutely and totally addicted to this story! I was completely drawn into the world, in a similar way that I was drawn into The Selection. I am not saying they are the same, but I just felt connected to it in the same way. I was so interested in Adelaide’s world and why she was choosing to leave such a privileged life for an uncertain future. Watching her disguise herself as someone of a lower class was interesting, and the challenges she faced were not what I would expect. Her friends were awesome. They were caring, honesty, and friends that I would want to have. And then, there was Cedric… Oooooh Cedric, what a sweet man. I was drawn to him from the beginning and was so curious what his role in everything would be. This plot was full of the drama that you would expect when reading about a house full of girls trying to rank higher than the others. Add that to the more real (to their world) drama that could make or break the characters…man, the book becomes a page-turner (or, in my case, it becomes a “I-can’t-leave-my-car-quite-yet” sort of listen). The twists, turns, and surprises that continued to pop up in this book have me just DYING to get my hands (or ears) on the next book!

28962906

Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

I finally got to this book, after owning it for months, and got it knocked off my Rock My TBR list! I was not prepared for this book. It went into a lot of details about the human body, and cutting it up, that I was not at all anticipating. Once I adjusted to that the book went pretty smoothly. The atmosphere of the book is breathtaking. No details were spared in transporting the reader to England, and eventually I was venturing through the streets alongside Audrey Rose and Thomas. The plot to this book was crazy good. I had some suspicions as to who The Ripper was, but at the same time I was completely and totally surprised. I seemed to skim over a few important details. With that being said, the author does a fantastic job creating a story that makes you want to continually turn the pages. The only thing that slowed me down was the creepiness of the details. If that is something that you don’t think you could handle, then I would suggest really thinking about if you want to read this book. In the end, I fell in love with the plot and setting. I am not at all sure how I feel about the characters at this point. All of them kind of rubbed me the wrong way, but the plot was so good that it didn’t even matter in the end. Definitely interested to see what is next in this series!

QUESTION: What are some books that you have been reading recently?

One thought on “Catching Up on books with Emily

  1. I’m so glad you liked Three Dark Crowns! I’m really looking forward to giving this book a try; however, I’ve seen a bunch of mixed reviews. Yay also for The Glittering Court! It’s another book I’ve been putting off due to its Goodreads rating, but since you enjoyed it, I’m going to put it back on my TBR! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

