Rock My TBR Check in!

rockmytbr17header
Rock My TBR is hosted by Sarah at The YA Book Traveler

Hey everyone! Can you believe that tomorrow is already the first day of March!? February really seemed to fly by this year (which is not always the case in the cold upper midwest) and we are SO ready for all the fun that March will bring (mostly Springtime. We want Winter to be over now guys). There is no Top Ten Tuesday topic today as the ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish are taking the week off (and they so deserve it!). So, instead of doing a Top Ten Tuesday for you this week we figured we would do a Rock my TBR check in, because…we missed last month. Oops. We are thinking this may be an every other month thing, because life sure can get busy, but we’ll see.

If you forgot all about Rock My TBR you can check out our introduction posts (Emily | Arika) and you can check out our list where we are keeping track.

So, how have we done with Rock My TBR so far in 2017?

Emily:

I honestly don’t think I am doing to shabby. The goal is to essentially read one book from this list a month, and I am up to 3 books on this list. I can obviously do better (and Spring Break is coming my friends), but I think 3 is a solid start towards a goal of finishing 12. What books have I read?

Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco – This book was a struggle for me at first (which I will definitely go into later when I talk about this book). It got pretty dark, but in the end I enjoyed the mystery of it all and found the characters to be intriguing.

The Boy in the Black Suit by Jason Reynolds– A book that I definitely think we all should take some time to read. It deals with loss, and I am a firm believer in everyone taking some time to really understand the process. I think this book did an excellent job showing that everyone copes differently.

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton– I am embarassed that it took me this long to read. Arika and I did a buddy read for this and will discuss our full thoughts later, but until then know that I LOVED THIS BOOK.

What’s next?

Hmmm, that’s tough to say.  I would love to finish The Winner’s Crime and The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski and would really like to dive into either I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith or finally tackle Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee.

Chances are…I will do something completely the opposite, but the intentions have been set!

Arika:

I think I am a little ahead of my goal so I would say that is wonderful for me! I wanted to read at least one book a month and so far I have done 3 in the first 2 months and am on my 4th. I hope to keep this pace so that I can read more than 12 from my list, but we will see, life likes to get in the way of my reading. So lets see what I’ve read so far:

Heartless by Marissa Meyer – Heartless was a great retelling of the Queen of Hearts. I enjoyed this book and I actually was cheering for her to turn out good. The best part was all the descriptions of the goodies she would bake!

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo – A fantastic finish to the Six of Crows duology. I love all the characters in this book and would love to be best friends with Nina. Great action packed book like the first and I think I liked them both better than her first Grish trilogy (though I still really enjoyed those). I will read anything Leigh Bardugo writes.

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton – Man,  I am glad Emily suggested reading this for our buddy read! Great action packed book with a little magic, a little romance, and a lot of sass! Again look for a future post on Emily and my buddy read and our thoughts on this awesome book.

What’s next?

I am currently reading Last Stand by Rachel E. Carter, another book that I can cross off my list (YES!) and finish the series (DOUBLE YES!). There are a couple books that I would like to get to that are sitting on my shelf: The Star Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi and The Rose & the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh. All are great reads! Though I might need a break from fantasy/ya and read a different genre but who knows.

QUESTION: How are your 2017 reading goals coming along?

3 thoughts on “Rock My TBR Check in!

  1. Wow you guys have got a great start going! My RockMyTBR update comes out this weekend, but…*whispers* There’s nothing on it. I mean, I’ve been reading, just not reading the books from my list, haha. Keep on reading!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

