Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Loved More Than I Thought I Would

toptentuesday
Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Hey everyone! I am back this great February week to bring you Top Ten Tuesday. Though sadly it will be solo as Emily is a bit busy this week. But don’t fret! She will be back next week (haha I don’t think I could go longer than that on my own here, kidding!). But back to our Top Ten Tuesday, this week is about books we have loved less/more than we thought we would. I decided my top ten would be books that I have loved more than I thought I would. It’s always a good feeling to grab a book you don’t know that you would like and be pleasantly surprised by it. Whether it be a book you randomly pick up at the library or a recently released book that has gotten a lot of hype, I love a book that I can recommend to someone else after I read it. So without further ado, here is my list for this weeks Top Ten!

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes | Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake | The Martian by Andy Weir | The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith | Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo | Splintered by A.G. Howard | First Year by Rachel E. Carter | Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West by Gregory Maguire | Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen | The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor

Question: What are some books that surprised you with how good they were?

arika

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Loved More Than I Thought I Would

  1. Billbrarian

    I was skeptical about The Martian from all the hype that was surrounding the book, but I was pleasantly surprised as well and really loved it. Great list. There are several others there I’ve picked to read that I hope to enjoy soon too such as the Leigh Bardugo and Morgan Rhodes series.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. onceuponabookishnerd

      I made sure I read the book first before I saw the movie and I’m glad I did. It was a really good book that made me laugh in quite a few places.
      If you’re into audio books, I really recommend listening to the Falling Kingdoms series. That is what I am currently doing and I love the narrator, Fred Berman, I think he does a great job!

      Like

  2. This is a great list! The Martian really blew my socks off. I wasn’t sold on The Looking Glass Wars, though. What is it about that series which appealed to you? Wicked, Falling Kingdoms and Three Dark Crowns are on my TBR. I can’t wait to read them!

    For me, The Night Circus was a HUGE surprise. There are so many great books. You can find my Top Ten Tuesday here– but I would also add Illuminae to the list of welcome surprises. I love that book!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. onceuponabookishnerd

      I think what appealed to me for The Looking Glass Wars is I always love a good fairy tale retelling and this one had a different twist to it. I loved the fact that the hatter was like the head body guard and that it took place both in the regular world and wonderland.
      I hope you can get to some of those others on your TBR!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved Splintered! I put it off for forever and then listened to it (because I figured I’d just do audio after all that procrastinating), and fell in love. The others on your list that I’ve read actually go the other way for me, where they didn’t live up to expectation. I actually couldn’t bring myself to finish Wicked — I didn’t care for Maguire’s writing and I had the incorrect assumption going in that it would remotely resemble the musical, so I personally struggled a lot. Shadow and Bone by itself I wasn’t a HUGE fan of, but I LOVE the rest of the series and everything else I’ve ever read by Bardugo. Falling Kingdoms was … ok for me, but nothing special, I guess. I’m glad you enjoyed them all though!

    That said … I REALLY want to read Scarlet and Three Dark Crowns!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. onceuponabookishnerd

      Wicked I have never seen the musical so that probably helped me not have to many expectations when it came to the book. I do really want to see the play though soon!
      Scarlet is amazing! Both myself and co-blogger Emily highly recommend the trilogy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

