Let’s Catch Up…on What Emily has read

Hey guys!

qo2g1ip

As I am sitting here staring at my list of reviews to be done I started to get a little overwhelmed. For the longest time I have been the person that is on top of things. I am always quick to start typing a review (or jotting down notes so I can write it later that week) and typically have something up promptly and feel accomplished while I dive in to my next book. This has been an issue for me as of late. I had so much happening for me personally and then that bit of a hiatus while I was back home for the holidays happened. I honestly feel like I am just getting back on my feet. So, instead of giving you little individual posts about each and every book (which they all deserve) I am going to give you a few thoughts on each one (which we can discuss more later if you wish).

So…here are some things that I read recently…

18692431

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

I was dying for an audiobook to keep me company on my drive to and from work, and this definitely fit the bill. I kept hearing that Nicola Yoon’s work was beautiful, and this just proved that to me. She painted such a beautiful picture of a young woman who is so used to her routine and doesn’t even question it. I got so invested in finding out just what it was that Maddy had and how she was going to continue to be friends with Olly. They became these two characters that I was constantly routing for as the book went on. I responded to them in my car (and they did not listen to me) and I continued to wish for the best for them in their lives. I got lost in this story and struggled to find an audiobook once I was finished with this one. This story was unique, interesting, and something that kept me wanting to stay in my car to listen to more. I definitely recommend getting this book into your possession.

25802615

Unashamed by Lecrae Moore

Lecrae is an artist that I have always been interested in. This rapper has lived quite the life and really turned it around to bring a message to the public that we need to hear. In this book Lecrae tells us his story, which is a story indeed. This story opened my eyes to what people can go through while also giving me a little idea of the inspiration for his style of rap. Lecrae tackled of life of drugs, alcohol, abuse, and a lot of bad choices and situations. He was put through the ringer over and over and many times could not see a way out. Every time he tried, every time he thought he changed his life around and followed the path he was supposed to, something pushed him back. This story is about rising above your circumstances  to bring out what God wants from you. This book is about faith and trust and not letting the past define who you are in the moment. This book gave me a whole new perspective on Lecrae, his music, and his message. It was eye opening and inspiring.

21490991

The Boy in the Black Suit by Jason Reynolds

This book was something else, in the best way. I am not entirely sure if I have the right words even. To me this was a portrayal of grief that I found relate-able, realistic, and, in a way, beautiful. This young man lost his mother and is dealing with all that comes after you lose a parent…kids at school treating you funny, developing odd routines to help you cope, the dreams, watching a parent cope. At first I thought some of his coping mechanisms were weird, but the more I read the more I get it. In the end, while grieving, you don’t want to feel alone. You want to know that you aren’t the only person in the world that has ever felt this level of a loss. Matt was looking for that, and he found it. I loved the story. I loved the writing and the relationships between characters. I really don’t know how else to describe it without giving away my feelings towards this book. In the end I just want you all to know that you NEED to read it and pass it along. It explores a life that is tough, but with ways to find the bright side in the darkness.

A few other things I have listened to lately in the car….Bossypants by Tina Fey and Yes Please by Amy Poehler. Yes, I am laughing my butt off in the car. I love these two women and the work that they have done. Their books are entertaining and kind of empowering. I love listening to them to and from work. A great thing to listen to after a stressful day.

QUESTION: What are some books that you have been reading lately?

emily

Leave a Reply

