Let’s Talk About…When We Collided by Emery Lord

256636371We are seventeen and shattered and still dancing. We have messy, throbbing hearts, and we are stronger than anyone could ever know…

Jonah never thought a girl like Vivi would come along.

Vivi didn’t know Jonah would light up her world.

Neither of them expected a summer like this…a summer that would rewrite their futures.

In an unflinching story about new love, old wounds, and forces beyond our control, two teens find that when you collide with the right person at just the right time, it will change you forever.

Add this to your Goodreads

 

Initial reaction upon finishing:

tumblr_mz634q7fyi1rwj9abo1_5002942237-6105032690-tumbldonut

Oh my goodness, this book guys…THIS BOOK! I had never read an Emery Lord book before this one. I had always heard such high praise of her and her writing, but never really was able to get my hands on her work. Thanks to my fabulous Secret Santa I finally had a copy of one of her books and decided to dive right in. I am so glad that I did this.

This book is filled with situations both relate-able and not. It is filled with heart and emotion and a relationship that grew on me so much that it hurt. I flew through this book and was dying to know just what would happen in the end. Some things that had me constantly turning the pages…

  • The writing! Oh my gosh, the writing was absolutely wonderful. Emery Lord has such a way with words that I was so lost in them from the beginning. She used those words to create a world reminiscent of small towns we see in many different shows and books that we long to be a part of. Her words painted a picture of the issues that she was tackling and made the characters so real. Some quotes that hit me just to give you a bit of a taste…

    “To the deepest, most cellular level of my being, I resent people who believe that depression is the same as weakness, that ‘sad’ people must be coddled like helpless toddlers” -pg. 126

    “‘I keep wondering if it’ll ever hurt less. This…this hole in our lives’ ‘Oh, I imagine it’ll hurt less eventually. I think there will always be a hole, though. But lace is one of the most beautiful fabrics, you know. All those holes and gapes, but it’s still complete somehow – still lovely.'” -pg. 181

  • Tackling the tough issues that no one wants to talk about! Mental health is a subject so many people avoid. It’s something that can be so hard to put a finger on because every single person handles it differently. I think everyone suffers from something. Sometimes depression (diagnosed) and other times it’s something more intense. I think that this book did an excellent example of showing how this can vary. It didn’t put an awful stigma on mental health like we always do, and it really stressed how important it is to get help when you are in over your head. Not only did it get that point across, but it also showed that mental health does not always end in the biggest tragedies. I can’t explain too much more, but believe me…you would see that in this book.
  • I found this book to be something I could relate to. Jonah experienced so many of the emotions and feelings I have had throughout my life after losing my father. I am one of those people who likes to read books about grief, especially when I feel like I am in the middle of a darker moment. Grief cycles back, and before I read this book it definitely did. Reading Jonah’s emotions and feelings, watching him tackle the grief every day while dealing with more than I had after losing my dad…it helped. And I think it is something that others can relate to, and those that can’t can understand just what it might be that people might be going through.
  • Jonah and Vivi were incredibly interesting. Vivi was spontaneous and unpredictable and exactly what Jonah needed. Jonah was quiet and caring and needing something to put a bit of a spark in his life. I think these two people coming together is the perfect example of how you need others. There are times to deal with things alone, and there are times to tackle things with others. I think that these two put so many things into perspective for the other, and that in the end they were better off because of the other. They both pushed each other to be more than they thought they could be.

In the end, this book had me sobbing for all the best reasons. This is a story that will stick with me and that I will try to be passing on to my friends (and already did, and upon returning this book she mentioned something about her heart also being in the pages..). This book is so important and so needed. Please, if you get the chance…read this book!

QUESTION: What’s one book that tackles mental health that you love to recommend to fellow readers?

emily

Leave a Reply

