Some Things I’ve Read Lately

Isn’t life crazy!? I swear it was September just last week. But nope, it’s halfway through November and Thanksgiving is next week. I really can’t believe just how fast things have gone.

With time flying by I have noticed that I have neglected to tell you about some awesome books that I have read lately. How rude of me right? I feel like a lot of these are books that I am just late to the party on, but getting some backlist books checked off the TBR  is always a good thing. So, I am just going to give you a few quick thoughts on what I have read (because time…time is ALWAYS an issue).

So…want to know what I have read lately?

25689074

Stars Above: A Lunar Chronicles Collection by Marissa Meyer

I have recently discovered my love for listening to audiobooks on my drive to and from work. Though its only a 20-25 minute drive, it’s nice to have a story to listen to (especially after a pretty cruddy day when you just need to escape). Of course, this was the fabulous first choice to get me back into the love for audiobooks. I absolutely loved listening to these stories! It was so fun to be back into that world that I loved so much, and to see the character before we as readers had met them throughout the series. I don’t know if it’s possible, but I think that I began to love the series even more. I had even more sympathy towards certain situations (Oh my gosh Cinder, Scarlet, Winter, and Cress…BREAK MY HEART). There were tears, there was laughter, there were swoons…I experienced it all. Thank you so much for writing these short stories about our favorite characters Marissa Meyer! I am so glad to have had just a little more time with them. If you are a fan of this series and haven’t read these yet I HIGHLY recommend it! You will not be disappointed (especially with the WEDDING at the end! I won’t tell you who or what happens but oh my gosh…swoons).

17668473

Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman

I am so glad that I have FINALLY read this! I have had this on my shelves for about a year, and it’s been on my TBR for a while prior to me actually owning it. And though it sucks that it took me so long to get into it I am SO glad that I finally had time to read it. And all I have to say is wow…WOW. What a great mystery set during the Nazi Uprising. I think that this gave me a unique view on what it was like for Germans at this time and how easy it was for them to just assume Hitler was in the right. I loved reading about Gretchen and seeing her discovery of what was actually going on. Though it broke my heart to see her world rocked and seeing her find that everything is a lie, I loved that she didn’t just hide, cower, and accept, but that she did what she could to set things right. This book was a little slow at first, but when it picked up…BOY did it pick up! From that point on I was unable to put it down. It was addicting and I just HAD to know what was going to happen. And now…well now I need the next book! And soon.

13138635

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

This is another book that I have owned for awhile and kept putting off for some odd reason. Lucky for me I found the audiobook so that I could listen and read when I wasn’t driving. At first, I wasn’t sure about this book. I was a little unsure of the pacing of the book more than anything even though I thought the plot was interesting. So glad I stuck with it though, because I think this has the makings of a very interesting series. The world that the authors created was so amazing. Scifi is a tricky genre for me, but I think this was a nice dip into the genre for someone like me (a casual scifi reader). The characters were fairly interesting, and I loved seeing how they grew throughout the book and throughout the situations that they were thrown into. The plot constantly kept me guessing (I seriously had no clue what to make of the whispers for the LONGEST time). All in all, a very enjoyable book. And a series that I need to continue.

Has anyone else read any of these books? I would love to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

