SST: Quotes from Timekeeper by Tara Simm + Giveaway!

fullsizerender-5

Sunday Street Team comes from the fabulous brain of Nori over at ReadWriteLove28. Basically we act as a street team for a particular author (or authors) every month, promoting their book and basically flailing about (we do that right?). To learn more about it you can visit the Sunday Street Team page over on Nori’s site.

I am so excited to be sharing this book with you today for Sunday Street Team. There has been so much excitement surrounding this book with its diversity and unique storytelling, and I can definitely see what all the hype is about. Haven’t heard much about this book? Well…here’s a little bit more about it.


25760792In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.
It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors. And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve. But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever. The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.

The time period, the characters, the writing…it all makes this story incredibly unique and definitely something for readers everywhere to be excited for.

As this book is so unique and the writing so incredibly I am going to share 5 of my favorite quotes with you. I hope that through these quotes you can see just how the writing captures the world and that it will make you wanting more. Now if you now me well you know that I am a sucker for first lines, so this first quote is the first line of the book. That will be followed by some other fabulous quotes from this book.

“Two o’clock was missing.”

 

“Time was everywhere and nowhere at once, making the moment last an eternity.”

 

‘‘You’re chaos and order and everything in between. Like sunshine kept back by clouds. Like the entire world’s imploded inside you, but all I see are the stars are sewn into your skin. You’re filled with soft, dark music.” His smile was gentle. “I hear it all the time. Your music.”

 

“Time moved all things. Killed all things”

 

“He was a boy of air and dust and sunlight. Everything that had gone into the making of the world.”

If that isn’t enough to get you wanting to get your hands on this book I don’t know what will. This book came out this past week (November 8th!) so be sure to go out and get your copy today!

About the Author

14118411

Tara Sim can typically be found wandering the wilds of the Bay Area, California. When she’s not chasing cats or lurking in bookstores, she writes books about magic, clocks, and explosives. TIMEKEEPER is her debut novel. Follow her on Twitter at @EachStarAWorld, or check out her website tarasim.com for fun extras

And now…for what you all are definitely looking for (so you can get your hands on this book)…

CLICK HERE FOR THE GIVEAWAY

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s