3 Reasons to Read Heartless by Marissa Meyer

18584855Long before she was the terror of Wonderland—the infamous Queen of Hearts—she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.

Long before she was the terror of Wonderland, she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love. Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next queen.

Then Cath meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the king and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship. Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

Add this book to your Goodreads | Buy this book!

Initial reaction upon finishing:

8324696

Man on man, Marissa Meyer does it again! I absolutely loved her take on this classic tale and the characters within it. From the very first page I was suckered in and the book did not lose its grip on me. Though I could tell you MILLIONS of reasons that you should read this book when it comes out this week (THIS WEEK PEOPLE!), but I am just going to give you 3 AMAZING reasons to pick up this book.

  1. Amazing collaboration of Lewis Carroll and Marissa Meyer. The world was FABULOUS. It had all the richness that I remember from the original Alice tale but with some unique takes from Marissa Meyer. I think that she is the queen of retellings. I don’t know how she does it, but she gives these characters a new life while also paying respect to the original stories. She did exactly that. She changed the world enough to make it her own, but still kept the integrity of the world that was already created.
  2. Fantastic characters. I absolutely loved Cath, which I was kind of scared of. She was a passionate you woman, wanting more than she was promised because of her family. She wanted to follower her dreams and open up a bakery instead of marrying and moving up in social class. Jest was also an awesome character, one that kept me guessing constantly. He was hard to read and yet I longed for him to always be a part of the story. These two characters, as well as a handful of others, brought this origin story to life in ways I didn’t think possible. I wanted all good things to happen to them, but I also knew how the story would end…I got very attached and eventually my heart broke (because Cath does become the Queen of Hearts).
  3. Origin story! I loved that this was a story before the actual fairy tale happened. I was a pretty big fan of Wicked by Gregory Maguire, so I was really excited to see what the Queen of Hearst was like earlier in her life. I couldn’t imagine that she was always a terror, and it was nice to see that I was not alone in these thoughts. I liked that this still left the actual fairy tale alone to continue to be what it is while adding details that maybe would make you care a little more about a character that you once thought was so dark and evil for no reason.

Bonus: standalone, so much dessert talk I wanted to start baking, characters I could relate to (Mary Ann), not an ending I expected.

So yes, I absolutely loved this story. Though I knew the ending that we would get to there were twists and turns that I did not see, and many moments that made me feel many feelings (that romance guys…it was beautiful). I think that you absolutely need to read this book, ESPECIALLY if you are a big Marissa Meyer fan!

This book comes out November 8th! Get your hands on it!

Has anyone else read this book?

Leave a Reply

