3 Quotes to suck you in…Iron Cast by Destiny Soria

28818313It’s Boston, 1919, and the Cast Iron club is packed. On stage, hemopaths—whose “afflicted” blood gives them the ability to create illusions through art—captivate their audience. Corinne and Ada have been best friends ever since infamous gangster Johnny Dervish recruited them into his circle. By night they perform for Johnny’s crowds, and by day they con Boston’s elite. When a job goes wrong and Ada is imprisoned, they realize how precarious their position is. After she escapes, two of the Cast Iron’s hires are shot, and Johnny disappears. With the law closing in, Corinne and Ada are forced to hunt for answers, even as betrayal faces them at every turn.

Add this book to Goodreads

Buy this book

 

I was so very excited to get my hands on a copy of this book. I absolutely loved the synopsis from the minute I read it and knew I just had to give it a shot. I found this book to be thoroughly enjoyable. Is it a stand out book for me this year? Sadly, no. Did I enjoy it even though it didn’t make the list of the best for me? Yes! I can definitely see where people would adore this book and why we need more books like this. I could definitely spend this whole post listing things I loved. I could tell you all about the awesome female main characters who were strong and independent, trying to figure out their world while fighting for their beliefs. I could tell you about the diversity of this book and the amazing characters that come out of that. I could tell you how there is some awesome romances happening, but they aren’t the main focus of the story the entire time. I could tell you about the time period and how it works within the plot of the story. But, instead I am going to share with you some quotes.

The writing in this book was fantastic. Though this book didn’t 100% click with me for some unknown reason I found that the writing really spoke to me. It was definitely my style and really what hooked me into this book to being with…

“More than anything, she wanted to kiss him. He was so bright and beautiful and vulnerable in the daylight. But she couldn’t let herself.”

14537905

“They have some fine music down there, though,” Charlie said, a hint of wistfulness in his tone. “In August, even when the air is so thick and humid that the crickets are in a frenzy, you can still hear them songs for miles Nothing more beautiful than a night in Alabama.”

He turned his head, and Ada felt his eyes on her profile.

“Well, almost nothing,” he said.

giphy

He was using a stick to gently nudge a starfish into the oncoming tide. She’d thought for sure it was dead, but he assured her it wasn’t.

“Chin up, young man,” he’d said to the pale-yellow star, sounding so much like their father that she’d wanted to giggle. “You’ve got a second chance to get it right.”

tumblr_inline_nw0e8bycy11s9zfpx_500

This book was super enjoyable. And, looking back at it, I think that the only issue in this whole equation was me. Sometimes books don’t 100% click, and that’s fine. I think this book and I clicked at like 80%, still enjoyable, worth reading, and worth recommending, but not in the ALL time favorite of 2016 list. It did make the Enjoyable Reads of 2016 list, and I am so glad that I was able to give it a chance. And even with not falling head over heels in love I still really enjoyed the world that the book explored, the historical time period, and the main characters. I really liked what this author did with a story like this, and I cannot wait to see what else she has in store for the book world.

This book comes out on Tuesday, October 11th! Definitely get out there and give this book a shot! Well worth the read!

So…two questions for you. 1) Have you read this book? 2) What’s one book that you enjoyed yet didn’t make your all time favorite list?

Leave a Reply

