Top Ten Tuesday: School Reads

toptentuesday
Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish

Oh my gosh, can you even believe that it is already the end of August? I am honestly quite shocked. Though I have not exactly had the best summer in the world, you best believe it still flew by. And as of September 1st I will be back at the high school and back to the grind. SO. Weird.

It seems that in celebration of this time of year the ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish thought we should make our lists school related. Today I am going to show you the Top Ten Books I read in college. Yes, some of these books I did not read until college. And even with that I still see their importance and loved them so much. If you haven’t heard of some of these or were toying with adding them to your TBR I highly recommend you check them out. A wide range of books, some of which I would never have been introduced to had it not been for my college lit classes.

Coraline by Neil Gaiman  ~Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson  ~The Kite Runner by Hkaled Hosseini  ~In the Time of Butterflies by Julia Alvarez  ~Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis  ~Secret Letters from 0 to 10 by Susie Morgenstern  ~The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo  ~Before We Were Free by Julia Alvarez  ~Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor  ~The Farming of Bones by Edwidge Danticat

So…anyone read any of these books? Some of these books I have found very few people who have read them, which is so sad. So if you have read them I would love to hear your thoughts. And if you haven’t read them I highly recommend looking into some of these (especially Julia Alvarez’s books. So powerful).

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: School Reads

    1. It was definitely an experience. And sometimes a struggle. But I think the author did a wonderful job with it. Granted, I haven’t picked up any of his other books and I kind of wonder if I only read that one because it was assigned, but glad I did.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great list! The Kite Runner is such a powerful read. I also really enjoyed Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry. I didn’t read that one until I was in college and was taking a young adult and children’s lit course, and it was my favorite read from the course.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

