Let’s Talk About…The Chasm (Madion Island #2) by S. Usher Evans

28822404
I received this book in exchange for an honest review. This in no way sways my opinions.

They survived The Island, but can they cross The Chasm?

Four months after Prince Galian was discovered alive on a remote island, he’s adjusting slowly to life at the hospital under the Kylaen media’s glare. His promises to Theo remain unfulfilled as fear of his father keeps him from taking concrete action. And the more he learns about the machinations in Kylae, the less sure he is that it’s possible to make a difference.

Across the great Madion Sea, Major Theo Kallistrate struggles to navigate the tricky political waters of Rave’s presidential staff. To make positive change for her people, she must remain relevant and interesting to the Raven media and to the president. When he asks her to deliver a speech on her supposed two-month imprisonment at Mael, she’s not sure she can stomach the lies.

Add to your Goodreads | My Review of The Island | S. Usher Evans | Buy this book

Initial reaction upon finishing:

Oh my gosh guys, this book was wonderful. I am so scared that my words will not be enough to describe to you just how awesome it was. It was the perfect continuation to this series, full of twists, turns, tension, and intrigue. I would say that it is everything that I had wanted from the next book, but lets be honest…I have new questions and concerns and DESPERATELY am in need of the 2nd book. I am going to do my best to let you know about a few things I loved about this book sans-spoilers …

  • Romance. This book is so many things, but one of the biggest things to it is the romance. The relationship between Galian and Theo is something that just makes my heart melt. Individually they are strong individuals. They fight for their beliefs in every way possible, and they do things for their country. But at the same time, there is this longing. The longing for each other. Each and every day they put on a brave face because their relationship would not look so good politically, but there is always that longing and desire. I love that they are their own person on top of being the couple. And honestly…I would say that they found their lobster (AHHHHH Friends reference!!)
  • Political Tension. Honestly, after seeing how things are going in the world these days the world that Galian and Theo live in. The hatred from one group of people towards another is intense, and can sometimes result in violence and has been playing out in this incredibly long war. That hatred, that violence…we are seeing it right now. It’s crazy when the fictional world can relate to the real world. I have hopes though. Hopes for a happy ending. Hopes for change. And hopes that, as readers, we can see these connections and think about what we can do in our real world to help solve the problems.
  • We’re not all that different. This book is also a reminder that even with the differences in where we live, what we do, what we look like…many of us have the same end goal in mind. Many of us want the same things and can accomplish that together, even from our very different worlds. I loved that about this book. I feel like this was just so honest, and I love that it was such a big part of the book.

Bonus: Steamy moments (ooooh yes, they were quite intense), some amazing secondary characters (hard to really get to know them when they are stranded at an island in the first book…Kader, Rose, Rhys, Marten), twists turns and tension.

 All in all, this book is EXACTLY the continuation that I needed from this series. I found myself further drawn into this world and more connected with the characters. I started to care so much more about them and everything that happened in their world. I am dying to find out what happens next! I am also scared to find out what happens next, because obviously…

If you haven’t read this series…GET ON IT! The Chasm comes out on July 12th!

Leave a Reply

