Let’s Talk About…The Impostor Queen by Sarah Fine

23495112Sixteen-year-old Elli was only a child when the Elders of Kupari chose her to succeed the Valtia, the queen who wields infinitely powerful ice and fire magic in service of her people. The only life Elli has known has been in the temple, surrounded by luxury, tutored by magic-wielding priests, preparing for the day when the queen perishes—and the ice and fire find a new home in Elli, who is prophesied to be the most powerful Valtia to ever rule.
But when the queen dies defending the kingdom from invading warriors, the magic doesn’t enter Elli. It’s nowhere to be found.
Disgraced, Elli flees to the outlands, home of banished criminals—some who would love to see the temple burn with all its priests inside. As she finds her footing in this new world, Elli uncovers devastating new information about the Kupari magic, those who wield it, and the prophecy that foretold her destiny. Torn between her love for her people and her growing loyalty to the banished, Elli struggles to understand the true role she was meant to play. But as war looms, she must choose the right side before the kingdom and its magic are completely destroyed.

Add to your Goodreads | Buy this book | About the author

Initial reaction upon finishing:

I loved, loved, loved this book. Seriously, it was amazing. I am shocked that no one is talking about it more. This book had all the things that I wanted . It had a plot that was unique, characters I could relate to, twists and turns that I didn’t necessarily see coming. It had so many things that I loved, and I was drawn in right from the beginning. Here are a few things that I loved about it…

  • Unique plot. How often is it that you read a book that is all about The Chosen one not being the Chosen one? She was raised as this chosen person. She was expecting to do SO MUCH for her country and her people. She was adjusted to a very particular lifestyle, and then it all comes crashing down. We see Elli, the main character (LOVED HER) adjusting to not being who she thought she was and who she was preparing to be and instead trying discover who she is. This is not at all what I am used to when reading. I am used to reading about someone discovering that they are this chosen person. It was unique, and I think that made the plot that much more interesting and me much more invested in the story.
  • Amazing characters. Elli became a fast favorite of mine. She was such a fierce individual. She had such motivation, determination, and the will to do whatever she could in order to help her people. Her entire world was turned upside down, and though she struggled with it she also rolled with the punches. I absolutely loved her character and the fight in her. And then there was Oskar, another favorite. He was a quiet warrior. He cared for his family and his people above all else. He was capable of so much, but was scared to use it. I found that very easy to relate to. I absolutely loved the story surrounding these characters and how they played out within it.
  • World building. This is always something I struggle with. Sometimes I feel like I get so dragged down by the details that I kind of lose the plot. That did not happen in this book. I felt like the details of this world were given out perfectly so that it didn’t drag on. I was able to clearly picture this world as the book went on. And as each and every detail came out I was so curious as to how it the world and the plot of what was actually happened related. I think it was so beautifully done.

Bonus: Swoons (oohhh the swoons), that ending (it may have made me feel all the feels but eh, it also ended with hope for the future and questions as to how things will come about), awesome secondary characters.

I absolutely adored this book. I loved the pacing, I loved the characters, I loved how the plot enfolded. It was the book that I needed to kind of break me out of a slight slump. And now I am sitting here, waiting for book two.

So tell me…have you read this book? Would love to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

