Let’s Talk About…Break Me Like a Promise by Tiffany Schmidt

26073071No one is unbreakable.
All Magnolia Vickers has ever wanted was to follow father’s path as head of the Family Business. But new legislation is poised to destroy the Family’s operations in the black-market organ trade and Maggie’s recent behavior has wrecked the business-savvy reputation she’s worked her whole life to build.
She’s given an ultimatum: shape up or step aside.
Then Maggie messes up: she downloads a virus onto her father’s computer, and must sneak it off-estate for repair. When Alex, a tech whiz, uncovers the type of information on the machine, he offers Maggie a choice: her Family can give him a kidney, or he’ll irreparably scramble the data. Maggie agrees, but has no intention of keeping her promise or every seeing him again. That night Alex shows up at her Family estate with copies of confidential Family files and a shocking revelation—the kidney is for him.
The Vickers aren’t willing to let Alex out of their sight, so he moves onto their estate and Maggie is assigned to be his keeper. A task she resents and he enjoys making as challenging as possible. But procuring black market organs is becoming increasingly difficult, and as Alex’s health declines, she’s surprised to find herself falling for him.
Like it or not, Maggie must accept that if she wants to save Alex’s life and carve out a place in the new legalized organ business, she’s going to have to fight for both.

Add this book to GoodreadsPurchase this bookAbout Tiffany Schmidt

I received a copy of this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This in no way sways my opinions.

Reactions upon finishing:

tumblr_lmk4bb4qek1qdcpqtrequest-fivegiphy

I was so excited to continue on with this series. If you remember, the first book (Hold Me Like A Breath) came out about a year ago and had reviews that were all over the place. I really enjoyed it, even though it had a bit of a slow start for me. I really ended that book curious about what was next for the series and where the Organ Act would go, if anywhere. Insert Break Me Like a Promise. This book started off strong with a bit of gut-wrenching grief and just built off of itself, making me pretty invested in the story. A few of my favorite things:

  • Characters! The characters in this book stuck with me so much more than the first. I was not the biggest Landlow fan, and Penny kind of rubbed me the wrong way. I know that she is battling a crazy illness in the book and kind of at a loss when she is free from her home, but still. Magnolia is the exact opposite. Magnolia is fierce, strong, independent, and is not going to take anyone’s crap (though she does do that a handful of times). Throughout the book you see her experiences so many of life’s crazy moments, and you see her battling grief. Add that to the list of trying to be her dad’s #2 and it is just a mess of emotions. Her emotions felt so real to me, and the way she dealt with them is exactly how I would deal with them too. I found her incredibly relatable. There was also James and Alex, both of which I loved. I found them to be so much more real and normal than I had expected, and I was so excited to see just what would happen with everyone.
  • Storyline! I think that this particular plot got me to be much more invested in the business of the Family. I don’t know what it was, but I really cared about what would happen with the Organ Act and about their patients . As Magnolia got more and more invested in the care of Alex, I also got more invested in it. I think that this connected with me a reader more than the daughter of a Family dealing with her disorders. I also do know a little bit about kidneys and whatnot, so I felt like it was easy to follow along with (THANKS SCRUBS AND HOUSE!).
  • Life lessons! I know, I know. Hearing that there are valuable life lessons in the book kind of make it sound lame…but hear me out. I have dealt with grief since I was 13. I lost my father in battle with cancer, and since then have continued to feel that loss. Obviously Magnolia’s loss and mine are different, but I found that there was so much to relate to…mostly the importance of putting one foot in front of the other and moving on. This doesn’t necessarily mean replacing that person, but it means trying to move your life forward as far as work, education, etc. I think this book really painted a decent picture of that for the reader, and it’s something that so many can relate to and so many may need to hear. To me this was the BIGGEST takeaway from this book, but there is also the idea of not judging a person by appearances and taking time to care for yourself before trying to fix the world’s problems. I loved that these sort of lessons were in there, but not in a preachy way. It was perfect and something I still to this day need to hear.

I think that this was the PERFECT continuation of the series and I am so excited to see what is next. If you read the first book and are kinda curious about what happens next I highly recommend you dive right in. This series just upped it’s game, and I think you definitely need to see that!

One thought on “Let’s Talk About…Break Me Like a Promise by Tiffany Schmidt

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: 2016 Releases I Loved! – MIDWESTERN BOOK NERD

Leave a Reply

