Book Talk: Princess of Thorns by Stacey Jay

18782855Game of Thrones meets the Grimm’s fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty’s daughter, a warrior princess who must fight to reclaim her throne.

Though she looks like a mere mortal, Princess Aurora is a fairy blessed with enhanced strength, bravery, and mercy yet cursed to destroy the free will of any male who kisses her. Disguised as a boy, she enlists the help of the handsome but also cursed Prince Niklaas to fight legions of evil and free her brother from the ogre queen who stole Aurora’s throne ten years ago.

Will Aurora triumph over evil and reach her brother before it’s too late? Can Aurora and Niklaas break the curses that will otherwise forever keep them from finding their one true love?

Add Princess of Thorns to your Goodreads!

Initial reaction upon finishing:

tumblr_lyy4ydahky1r94qgqo1_500swoon57166-phil-dunphy-thumbs-up-gif-groa

I am a sucker for fairy tale retellings guys. I absolutely love them and love to see what an author can do to make it their own while still paying tribute to the original story. I tend to try to get my hands on them whenever I can, and I am so glad I was able to read this one. And I was even more excited that it was a stand alone! It’s hard to find a good stand alone sometimes…

So what did I like about this book…

  • RETELLING! As I mentioned before this is a retelling, and I loved that. I think that the author sampled enough from the original story so that I still knew it was a retelling but at the same time she really made it her own. There were elements she added that shocked and surprised me. The fact that she included two different fairy tales in is even better. Obviously there is the Sleeping Beauty retelling, but she also used parts from The Wild Swans by Hans Christian Andersen, which is not a story I am familiar with. However, I think they worked really well together and created a story that is unlike anything I have read.
  • Characters! I both loved and hated these characters. They were stubborn, so incredibly stubborn. But I think they also grew on me in a way. Even though they spent a lot of time fighting and butting heads, they also developed friendships that I kind of envied. Aurora disguises herself as a boy, and the bond that she and Niklaas develop is really something special. I think they became wonderful people (though they kept their stubborn behaviors until the very end…don’t want you to think that could change) and were really good for each other. And honestly…I think Niklaas was my favorite. He had so much snark and sarcasm and was kind of a jerk, but he also secretly cared and was trying to do right in the world. I loved reading from his perspective.
  • Action, Adventure, Romance, TWISTS! I can honestly say that I had no clue how this story would end. There was so much going on all the time and they were constantly on the run. I had a picture in my head, and it was destroyed right away. So then I would come up with a new possibility, and that was destroyed too. There were so many surprises along the way that I was shocked. Things were constantly happening which really kept the book moving and kept me turning the pages, needing more. And then there was that romance…it was swoony. It was heartbreaking. It was built up so much and I just…I dunno what to say about it. It was perfect.

This book became super addictive. I honestly am shocked that I finished it as quickly as I did. I struggled to put it down so that I could sleep. I remember my husband telling me that it’s fine if I read for a little bit longer, and an hour later I forced myself to put it down because sleep is important, right? Oh, I hope I made the right choice there.

If you are looking for an awesome stand alone with some fantasy and retellings going on, then this is definitely the book for you.

Anyone else read this book?

2 thoughts on “Book Talk: Princess of Thorns by Stacey Jay

Leave a Reply

