Story Time: Little Red by Bethan Woollvin

26396195
I received a copy of this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not sway my thoughts or opinions.

Little Red by Bethan WoolvinOn her way to Grandmas house, Little Red Riding Hood meets a wolf. Now, that might scare some little girlsbut not this little girl! She knows just what the wolf is up to, and shes not going to let him get away with it. In this updated fairy tale with a mischievous twist, talented newcomer Bethan Woollvin uses sly humor, striking visuals, and a dark irreverence to turn a familiar tale on its head.

I am always looking for new and fresh takes on fairy tales. I look for the classics with something fresh that stands out. It could be big or it could be small, but the nod to the classic with some sort of fresh idea or take is something I love.

This is not your typical Little Red Riding Hood story. Yes, there is Little Red. And yes, she is heading to Grandma’s house. And yes, she faces the Big Bad Wolf. All of those things that we always read about happen, but there is a twist. This Little Red is a lot braver than I remember from the stories I read as a child. She was ready to face the wolf when she needed to, and she did it without a sweat almost. I think this is a bravery that children need to see, especially in this story with something as scary as the wolf and the threat to someone beloved, such as a grandmother. I think it’s so important for them to know how important it is to face those fears, and how it’s possible to be brave in those face of things that seem bigger than us. I really think it’s a strong message. However, I was a little concerned about grandma.

The illustrations were so good. I loved the black and white with the splash of red on Little Red. I thought that those illustrations were really appealing and would definitely be something that would catch my eye when I was younger. I think that it would have the same results today.

If you love Little Red Riding Hood retellings, then this is the book for you. This book comes out on April 1, 2016. You can find it on Amazon here.

Leave a Reply

