Book Talk: Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

7514925Before Peter Pan belonged to Wendy, he belonged to the girl with the crow feather in her hair…
Fifteen-year-old Tiger Lily doesn’t believe in love stories or happy endings. Then she meets the alluring teenage Peter Pan in the forbidden woods of Neverland and immediately falls under his spell.
Peter is unlike anyone she’s ever known. Impetuous and brave, he both scares and enthralls her. As the leader of the Lost Boys, the most fearsome of Neverland’s inhabitants, Peter is an unthinkable match for Tiger Lily. Soon, she is risking everything—her family, her future—to be with him. When she is faced with marriage to a terrible man in her own tribe, she must choose between the life she’s always known and running away to an uncertain future with Peter.
With enemies threatening to tear them apart, the lovers seem doomed. But it’s the arrival of Wendy Darling, an English girl who’s everything Tiger Lily is not, that leads Tiger Lily to discover that the most dangerous enemies can live inside even the most loyal and loving heart.

Add Tiger Lily to your Goodreads | Find Tiger Lily on Amazon

Initial reaction upon finishing: swoon

tumblr_inline_na9asrcdag1qzlpix

tumblr_lx1vftsh0L1qj373v

Oh my goodness, Tiger Lily is not at all what I was expecting. I am honestly not sure what I was anticipating when I started this book, but I know it took me by surprise. I found this to be an adventure that is nearly typical of Neverland while giving you insight on a character that, at least with the Disney movie version, you don’t totally love. My oh my…how my opinions have changed. A few thoughts on this book… tumblr_m8asea42z51rppri6o1_500

  • TIGER LILY IS FIERCE! I guess I never really though of Tiger Lily as a wimpy character, but she was so much more than I had ever anticipated. She is strong, stubborn, terrifying, and yet not at the same time. She is a force to be reckoned with and most people tried to stay away from her. She was super intimidating, but you watched her grow. Not saying she lost her fierce-ness, but she almost tamed it a bit so that it wasn’t just scary and in your face, but so that it was a quality that could be admired (ok…maybe some people were still scared of her, but oh well). She had a softer side too, but it was pretty rare that anyone saw that.
  • PLOT! Oh my gosh there was a lot to process. There were so many dark situations that I didn’t even think about. From gruesome deaths to simple crimes, like sneaking off, we had it all. There was one particular dark situation involving Moon Eye that I just could not process. I don’t want to get into it too much because I think that gives away some key character development, but I was shocked. I had not anticipated such darkness in this book. It made Neverland to not be quite the land of fairy tales that we would expect.
  • ROMANCE! Ok, the romance had me…it had me so much. I wasn’t expecting it to grip me so much and tug at my heart, but it did. I was all for Tiger Lily and Peter Pan. They made such an adventurous couple that wasn’t afraid of anything (or at least they would never let on that they were afraid). This romance broke my heart. When Wendy showed up…I had so much rage. I don’t think I have ever adored Wendy, but I hated her in this book. Hated her so much. This story put you through a romance that is doomed. I mean you know from the start that it has no future, but oh my gosh was I hoping the entire time that it did. I was cheering for them. So much. But know…things do end nicely. I was very happy with that.

tumblr_n9nsp6iGVm1tzt6bzo1_500

This book was just not at all what I expected. I expected Tiger Lily to just be your average person, but she was so much more than that. And the world of Neverland…it will never be looked at the same by me again. It was a world of fantasy, but so many real world situations were thrown into this world of fantasy that we see every day. That we try to shed light on every day and that we try to fight for those who come out those situations on the other side. It amazed me how the author did that.

I would highly suggest taking the time to read this book. I can’t believe it took me as long as it did, but once my hands were on it I couldn’t stop. This was a 24 hour read.

Have you read this book? I would love to hear your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

