LATE TO THE PARTY: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

9460487A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

 

 

Add this book to Goodreads | Find Miss Peregrine on Amazon

Initial feelings after reading this book:

giphy

14-melissa-mccarthy-dancing-gif

giphy (1)

OH MY GOSH WHY DID I WAIT SO INCREDIBLY LONG TO READ THIS!? I cannot even begin to tell you the number of times I checked this book out at the library and ended up returning it because I ran out of time! It was always a book I had intended to read, but one that I just put off and I am kicking myself in the butt for it. CAN I PLEASE JOIN THE MISS PEREGRINE FAN TRAIN NOW PLEASE!?

This book…I had thought it would be the creepiest thing that I have ever read. I tend to stay away from anything scary or creepy because it’s just not my thing. Not at all. This book was perfectly titled, because the word I would use to describe it is most definitely peculiar. It just, it’s hard to explain. Some of my favorite things about this book…

  • The pictures worked SO WELL! I was really unsure how the pictures would even work with the text. I was a little nervous that it would break everything up and sentences would be spit in half because of pictures (I hate when that happens because then I end up reading that sentence many times in a row and still distracted by the picture). These picture fit into the text so perfectly that it just went on to further the story. It didn’t break anything up, which is HUGE for me. With that and the description and the words that Ransom Riggs writes…oh, I loved it all.
  • The storyline was a surprise! I seriously went into this book pretty blind, which maybe was for the best because I had NO CLUE what was going to happen. Everything that happened was super mysterious to me and I was so confused as to how anything was going to work out in this book. There were times when I would put the book down and try to figure it out and just come up empty on that. It had an interesting (and not confusing) take on time travel and just moved so incredibly smoothly. I almost want to go to the island, but not really because creepy.
  • It ended SO PERFECTLY! It didn’t end with a cliffhanger, but still gave you a reason to keep on reading. I was sure it would just end with someone dying or with a million questions that I just needed answered right at that exact second, but it didn’t. It ended having me curious about what would be next for Jacob, Emma, and the peculiar children. But it didn’t have me screaming and throwing the book across the room because I just HAD TO GET THE NEXT BOOK IN MY HANDS ASAP OR I WOULD DIE! I definitely want to read on and would LOVE to have the next book in my hands, but I don’t think I want to hurt anyone or anything like that.

I really enjoyed the variety of characters that Riggs put in this book and how he made each and every one of them unique in a story where everyone has something peculiar about them. I am definitely curious and will need to know what happens next soon.

I am definitely late to the Miss Peregrine party, but am so glad I am here now!

2 thoughts on “LATE TO THE PARTY: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Leave a Reply

