Chatting about Books

So there are quite a few books that I have read recently that I just haven’t reviewed. Possible reasons for this…I have so many feelings about it that I couldn’t find words for an entire post, it’s a continuation in a series and I really do struggle with talking about those without spoilers (all the books I am going to talk about today are continuations in a series), sometimes it’s just that they are talked about so much that I feel I don’t need an ENTIRE post on it but that I can add a few thoughts and move on.

So you’re probably DYING to know…WHAT IS IT THAT I HAVE READ THAT I CAN’T KEEP MY EMOTIONS IN CHECK TO CREATE ONE POST ABOUT ONE BOOK!

22489107

Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles #3.5) by Marissa Meyer

Ok, so if you haven’t read this series I must say that you NEED to! I did not expect to love it as much as I do, and this author just keeps making each book better and better. I love them all and honestly haven’t been disappointed by her work with this series yet! I was definitely going back and forth about reading this one.It’s a prequel (though I have heard some say to wait to read it until after Cress. I dunno if that’s necessary or not but that’s what I did) and about a character I honestly cannot stand. I mean tell me…does she look like the most amazing character ever based on the cover? NO! She looks awful. And she is terrible. I was scared this story would make me sympathize with Levanna, because she is so terrible. But I think this story had me see just WHY she is the way she is. Is there any excuse for her behavior? No. None at all. But I see that there was very little chance of her being a decent human being.She drove me crazy though. She had opportunities to be the bigger person, but seemed to NEVER take the high road. So I think in a way I kind of understand her a bit more (KINDA being the key word). There were some great characters in this book. I loved Winter, and I loved Everett and my heart definitely ached for him because he was just doing the best he could. I love how this book really shows how all these different parts of the books relate. To see where it all started with the main characters that are currently in the book is awesome. I did not expect to be completely and totally addicted to this book, but it happened. I am so excited to hopefully get my hands on Winter soon!tumblr_mbji98VD401r7zjhx

17564519

Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson

This book reminded me so much of the books that I read as a child. It filled me with feelings of nostalgia. I read so many books about the westward movement and life out on the frontier and this book screamed to my 10 year old self.Lee, the main character, was someone I really enjoyed reading about. She dealt with so many crappy situations in this book, but she seemed to make the best of it and move forward. She showed a lot of strength as she tried her hardest to not let life get her down, which is something I can never read to much of. I loved watching her grow, mature, and become more confident in herself. Jefferson was someone I would definitely want as a friend, but I didn’t feel like I got to know him as much as I had wanted to (PLEASE LET THERE BE MORE ABOUT HIM IN BOOK 2 KTHANKSBYE!). I felt like all the people that she and Jefferson were traveling with were such a great addition. They became like family, and my heart broke when tragedy would strike because I definitely wanted everything to go smoothly (good jokes right? How many people traveling during this time towards to gold in California had smooth trips? Yep..). The magic in this book was super subtle, which I think is something people should know BEFORE diving in. It is definitely more historical fiction with a dash of fantasy. I loved that, but I know that some people were not anticipating that. I love how this book kind of closed up one part of their adventures and we have a whole new adventure ahead of us for book two. Cannot wait to see where this one goes!7400499

21569527

The Heart of Betrayal (The Remnant Chronicles #2) by Mary E Pearson

This is the first book off of my TBR for Rock My TBR that I finished! YAY!

OHHHHH MYYYYYY HEART!!!!! I think that I liked this book way more than book 1. Not 100% sure why, but it is what it is. I absolutely love Lia. She is a bit fiesty, sassy, and also super caring and compassionate. She has such strength that I kind of envy. Yes, she sometimes gets in a little over her head and yes she sometimes is a bit impulsive, but that is so her that it kind of makes sense. She’s not perfect, which I think is important. Kaden and Rafe…honestly, they are both good guys. I may have my own opinions on who I would choose in this love triangle type thing, but in all honesty…I think either guy is good (though she could just be independent and awesome. I’d be cool with that too). The world…the world created in this book is AWESOME; a world I definitely got lost in. And the TWISTS!
OHHHHH the twists and turns of the plot! My heart!!!!! I mean I was loving it but then I got to the last 100 or so pages and COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN! And the ending…IT WAS SO GOOD! If you love some fantasy (ok, some fantasy with romance) then this is the book for you to try! Oh+godthe+feelsthey+re+everywhere+_c6461479a0f43a987e524705cb9e5e18

What have you been reading lately? Have you read any of these books (AND HOW DID YOU FEEL ABOUT THEM!?)?

Leave a Reply

