Top Ten Tuesday: Most Read Authors

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish
Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish

As I was sitting down to look at what authors I have devoured the most of I realized just how little I stick with 1 author. I was reading posts by other bloggers and my gosh, there were some people that have read 20+ books by a particular author and for me that just seems crazy. I guess I just bounce around so much and sample so many different author’s works that I never really think about how much more that author may have available. So here is the 10 authors that I have read the most books from (some may not be a total shock). Starting with the most and working my way down…. 

  1. JK Rowling (10 books): Shocking, right? Between all the Harry Potter books (7), a few of her other shorter books from the series (2) and the Robert Galbraith books (1) it adds up to an even 10. I will probably continue to read her books for a very long time. She holds a special part of my growing up years and I just can’t ignore her and any of the Harry Potter stories. 
  2. Neil Gaiman (10 books): Out of all of the books that I have read by Gaiman (Sandman, Stardust, etc) I find that my favorite by him are the ones written for children (I should add that this final count doesn’t include his picture books). I adore Coraline and The Graveyard Book so much and feel if you haven’t read them you definitely should. 
  3. Gail Carson Levine (7): I feel like most of you know that I adored Ella Enchanted as a kid and read it many many times. So it should come to absolutely no shock to you that I have read a lot of her other books. I love how she writes all of her fairy tales with the nod towards the original fairy tale but without making it feel like an exact copy. She is fantastic. 
  4. Scott Westerfeld (6): Love, love, LOVE the Leviathan series (and still need to read the final book). If you enjoy steampunk or are just getting into steampunk then I HIGHLY recommend you give this series a shot. It’s a great way to really ease yourself into the steampunk world without feeling in over your head. Also really enjoyed Uglies and a few of the other books I have read by him. 
  5. Stephenie Meyer (6): I figured I might as well own up to this. Yes…I read all of the Twilight books (including the Bree Tanner one) and yes I read the Host (which really gets a bad reputation I think being that it is associated with this particular author). I sometimes look back on this as a complete and total embarrassing moment in my past, but it really did get my turned on to reading a heck of a lot more than I was at that point. I was in a long slump (like years long) and this definitely caught my eye and got me reading again. Moving on… 
  6. Roald Dahl (6): As a kid I somehow avoided this author. My first real experience with his books was in college when I read The Witches for a class, and I fell in love. The fact that I have only read 6 of his books is kind of sad, and I really hope to be able to get my hands on more. I just love the way that he writes a story. 
  7. Laurie Halse Anderson (5): Again, my first experience with this author was in college when I read Speak, and I discovered how much I loved the realness and the emotional journeys of her stories. To this day nearly every single book I have read by her has really hit me emotionally and I have learned so much from it. She is an author I wish I would have paid attention to as a high schooler. 
  8. Rick Riordan (5): Basically I have just read the Percy Jackson series. I loved this series but for some reason have not really taken the time to pick up any of Riordan’s other books. I don’t know why. It’s not like I’m not interested or anything, it just hasn’t happened. 
  9. Rainbow Rowell (4): I have read ALL the Rainbow Rowell (except I do really need to get my hands on My True Love Gave to Me) and I have loved every single one. I think my FAVORITE was Attachments, but that is so hard to say. The fact that I do not own any of her books is quite sad. 
  10. Sarah J Maas (4): The only reason this is not 5 is because I am really scared to read The Assassin’s Blade because I hear it just smacks you in the feels and then continues to beat you emotionally. So basically I will be reading it in a week or so prior to getting my hands on QUEEN OF SHADOWS!!!!! I love her books and I love the way she writes. If you haven’t read anything by her I HIGHLY recommend it!

Honorable mentions: Ann Brashares (4), Gayle Forman (4), Marie Lu (4)

How about you…do we have any books in common? What are some authors that I am clearly missing out on?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most Read Authors

  1. I’m a twilight nerd and not ashamed to admit it. I’m not quite a twihard but I still love Bella and Edward. On a recent re-read of books 1-3 I was surprised by how sarcastic and tough Bella was. The movie representation of her is a lot more watered down. As for Harry Potter I’m a potterhead all the way with a crazy love for the Harry Potter musicals on YouTube and potter puppet pals and fanfic. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

