Top Ten Tuesday: Fairy Tale Retellings!!

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish
Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish

Oh my goodness, my excitement for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday is HUGE! I love Fairy Tale Retellings. As a child I was very into Disney and all the fairy tales that they released. Cinderella was my number 1 obsession (as was Robin Hood. Love me some Robin Hood). I wish that I read more of them because I have loved everything that I have read. This week’s list includes a few books that I have read and some that I am greatly anticipating (not necessarily because they aren’t all released but because I have yet to read them). 

  1. SCARLET SERIES by AC Gaughen: If you know me you know that my love for this series is STRONG! It’s a Robin Hood retelling that takes an interesting form with having a female in Robin’s band of Merry Men. Scarlet is a badass woman. She is a fighter, even when she really should just take a step back. And Robin Hood…oh, he is fantastic (all the swoons!). This is a series that I am head over heels in love with. I laughed, I sobbed, I talked back to the characters, I threw the book across the room only to run over and pick it back up because I had to find out what happened next. It is definitely one my favorite series that I have read, and I definitely count it as a retelling! 
  2. Various Gail Carson Levine: I was obsessed with her books as a kid. She has such an interesting and unique way of changing a fairy tale and yet making it feel like that is how it’s supposed to be. If you haven’t read Ella Enchanted every I HIGHLY recommend it. I read that book so many times in my life and it never got old. I think this is where my love for fantasy comes. Reading all the books like The Fairy’s Mistake, The Princess Test, and Princess Sonora and the Long Sleep had me hooked. They were short and wonderful and I need all of her books NOW! 
  3. THE WRATH AND THE DAWN by Renee Ahdieh: I feel like you should remember my flailing over this book (and if you don’t, click here). This book, like Scarlet, has really taken a special place in my book loving heart. This was based on A Thousand Days and One Night and it was so incredibly familiar to me, which was amazing. The story, the characters, the romance completely hooked me and I still have a hard time shaking this fantastic book. That ending…wow. This is definitely a retelling worth reading. ADD IT TO YOUR LIST NOW PLEASE BECAUSE I AM NOT LYING ABOUT ITS WONDERFULNESS! 
  4. A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES by Sarah J Maas: Hellloooooo Beauty and the Beast retelling. This book has all the elements of this story without making it seem like a knock-off. Everything happened with the twists of the world it was in and not the world that Belle and Beast were in. As a child this was not my favorite (it was my sister’s favorite sooo it was always a fight as to if we watched Cinderella or Beauty and the Beast) but I have grown to absolutely adore it, and Sarah did it right. The characters, the plot, and the romance…it was all incredible. If you adore Beauty and the Beast I HIGHLY recommend you give this book a chance. 
  5. THE LUNAR CHRONICLES by Marissa Meyer: Yes, I know…I gotta catch up (I WILL catch up by the time Winter is released). This is just an amazing series. Everyone in here is based off of a fairy-tale character and their worlds intertwine in the most interesting way. I mean you have Cinderella and Red Riding Hood in there. I haven’t read Cress or Fairest yet and am obviously anticipating Winter (which is why I am putting off Cress a little bit longer) but man, this is one of the first series I think of when someone wants to talk about retellings. Marissa does it so well too! I was a little hesitant about Cinder because the description sounded cheesy to me, but MAN OH MAN did it take off and impress me. And boy did Scarlet go EVEN better than Cinder (which I thought was pretty fantastic to begin with). 
  6. THE LOOKING GLASS WARS by Frank Beddor: I get so nervous about Alice in Wonderland retellings, but this one was fantastic. It was set in a way that I felt it was it’s own original story while still taking INSPIRATION from Alice (I really love that it didn’t feel like a complete copy in a different world). I love Alyss so much and Dodge. They were such wonderful characters to follow and cheer on. I got lost in this world and really do like how this whole series turned out. If you have not read this series I really recommend adding it to your list. I see so few people talking about it, which makes me sad. It’s just so good! 
  7. MECHANICA by Betsy Cornwell: This book comes out on August 25th! It’s a Cinderella retelling and I am pretty excited to start seeing some real positive talk about it from various bloggers I follow. I adore Cinderella retellings. Even if there are bad ones I just HAVE to be a part of it (and then I can complain about how it completely wrecked the story if Cinderella, etc). I nearly pre-ordered this one multiple times, but have put it off for some unknown reason and probably will continue to do so. But this is one I am excited to get my hands on hopefully in the near future! 
  8. ASH & BRAMBLE by Sarah Prineas: This book comes out on September 15th! It is yet another Cinderella retelling but looks like it will take a different direction than Mechanica. The first line of the synopsis has me just so intrigued “When the glass slipper just doesn’t fit…” It goes on to talk of a main character (the Cinderella character) having no memory of many things. I just want to see how that will all work out. I cannot wait to hear what people have to say about this and to get it in my own hands to read! 
  9. A THOUSAND NIGHTS by E.K. Johnston: This book comes out on October 6th, 2015. And yes, I need it. It seems to be set similarly to Wrath and the Dawn and being that I adored that book so much I really feel like this one should be a no brainier. I need it. In my hands. Why is it not October yet? 
  10. VALIANT by Sarah McGuire: This book is already out and is sitting on my shelf thanks to my fabulous Secret Sister Jordin (and it is definitely on my immediate TBR). It’s a retelling of a fairy tale that I know little about, but it just sounds so good. Cannot wait until I can crack that one open (SO SOON! I have my current read and one more and then I think it’s time for Valiant!)

Do we have any retellings in common? What are some that I have missed out on that I really should check out?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Fairy Tale Retellings!!

  1. The Fairy’s Mistake is like a blast from the past. I still remember hoarding those books from the school library when I was in elementary school. I haven’t heard of Ash & Bramble and it looks like I’ve got another book to add to my TBR pile.

    Like

    1. Oh gosh I was so glad that my mom bought them for me because I am sure that I would have ALWAYS had the library copies otherwise. Ash & Bramble just looks SO awesome! Cannot wait to read that one.

      Like

Leave a Reply

