Let’s Talk About…The Storyspinner by Becky Wallace

Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne, magical warriors race to find the missing heir, and romance blossoms where it is least expected.
In a world where dukes plot their way to the throne, a Performer’s life can get tricky. And in Johanna Von Arlo’s case, it can be fatal. Expelled from her troupe after her father’s death, Johanna is forced to work for the handsome Lord Rafael DeSilva. Too bad they don’t get along. But while Johanna’s father’s death was deemed an accident, the Keepers aren’t so sure. The Keepers, a race of people with magical abilities, are on a quest to find the princess—the same princess who is supposed to be dead and whose throne the dukes are fighting over. But they aren’t the only ones looking for her. And in the wake of their search, murdered girls keep turning up—girls who look exactly like the princess, and exactly like Johanna. With dukes, Keepers, and a killer all after the princess, Johanna finds herself caught up in political machinations for the throne, threats on her life, and an unexpected romance that could change everything.

Add The Storyspinner by Becky Wallace on Goodreads!

Initial reaction upon finishing:

I was fortunate enough to be able to borrow this book from Kelly over at Live, Love, Read and I was so darn excited about it. I had been hoping to get my hands on this book for so long and just could not find it. The library never had it. When I actually had money for books it wasn’t there. I just felt like this book was calling to me. THANKS KELLY FOR LETTING ME BORROW IT! It shall be sent on this week!

So this book…Wow! Wow! Wow! Wow! This book was something I completely adored. I was scared at first because there were SO many mixed reviews. There were so many people saying that they loved it and then there were a lot saying the hype killed it. I was kind of scared, but I also kind of read what I want so I figured I should just do it because it sounds like such a ME book. This book helped me out. It kept me out of a possible post-Lion Heart reading slump. That was a slump that I was so afraid of (because you know how it gets when your favorite series is done…you kind of just want to wallow and feel sad for yourself but you are happy with how things went down and yea, basically an emotional roller coaster ride there). There were so many things I loved about this book, but I really do love to give my top 3 reasons, so here we go…I think these are 3 awesome reasons for you to read The Storyspinner:

  1. CHARACTERS: I feel like I say that with every single book, but if I hated the characters I feel like I would not be talking to you about the book. This book was told from multiple POVs, which is quite possibly something that readers could struggle with. At first it was hard for me to remember. But…each character’s chapter is so unique to them. After a few chapters you really start to get a feel for their voice and then it’s pretty easy to tell who is who. After about 60 or so pages I had a hard time imagining this story told any other way. It just worked so well. The characters fit together really well even with the different points of view, and they all were kind of working towards something similar. It made it easy for me to follow. They were strong characters just trying to figure life out, as we all are. I learned to love them all (Rafi, Dom, Johanna…everyone!) and really did become attached to them and what happened in their lives.
  2. WORLD: The world of this story was so awesome. This is a fantasy novel, but it had some feels of historical fiction if that makes sense. It was a world that seemed so natural to me. A world of kings, queens, dukes…it just felt so real. And being that my last read (Lion Heart) was very much so set in this kind of world it worked for me. It just felt like a world I could so easily picture and one that I could actually belong in, if it were to exist.
  3. PLOT: This plot went so smoothly. I don’t know how else to describe it. There were no parts that felt awkward or that I wondered why it was there. It was predictable but not TOO predictable. There were times where I thought I saw an outcome but I had no idea at all how in the world that would happen. It kept moving too. There was something happening constantly, whether big or small, that had definite impacts on what was happening to the characters and within the story. It wasn’t overly complicated with the magic involved. It made sense

BONUS: Romance (ohhh, the romance in it was lovely. It did not take over the plot of the book, but it added to it), the flow of the WHOLE story (I just did not want it to end. I just wanted it to keep going and I honestly had NO CLUE when the stopping point would be).

This is just how I feel right now…I just loved it so much!

I seriously cannot wait to get my hands on the next book. WHEN CAN I GET MY HANDS ON THE NEXT BOOK!? I need to keep on reading and find what happens next.

Have any of you read this book? What did you think? Will you be adding it to your TBR if you have not read it yet?

Leave a Reply

