Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White

Remember when I said I have been reading a lot lately, well here’s yet another post for you to see just what I have been reading. I am really excited to share my feelings on this book. 19367070

Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White “I did my best to keep you from crossing paths with this world. And I shall do my best to protect you now that you have.”
Jessamin has been an outcast since she moved from her island home of Melei to the dreary country of Albion. Everything changes when she meets Finn, a gorgeous, enigmatic young lord who introduces her to the secret world of Albion’s nobility, a world that has everything Jessamin doesn’t—power, money, status…and magic. But Finn has secrets of his own, dangerous secrets that the vicious Lord Downpike will do anything to possess. Unless Jessamin, armed only with her wits and her determination, can stop him.

Immediate reactions upon finishing this book:

Reasons why I decided I just HAD to read this book: It’s described as Downton Abbey meets Cassandra Clare (I am not a HUGE Cassandra Clare fan, but I do love Downton Abbey so I was like YES PLEASE!). It’s a standalone (meaning…no need to commit to more books). It was highly recommended on blogs that I follow (thanks guys!). It was not SUPER long (I easily read this in 24 hours, which is HUGE for me).

My 3 takeaways from this FANTASTIC book:

1. IT IS PERFECT: Seriously, I have never been so happy that it was a standalone. I was worried at first. Worried that I would feel it needed so much more, but it just felt perfect. It ended without me having much more questions besides wondering what is next for their lives, but that is something that I don’t necessarily need to be a part of as a reader. I love how it ended, I love how it got there. The book just flowed so well and I could not stop reading. I felt like I took a journey with Jessamin. When she was confused so was I (the first 20 or so pages guys…I was so confused) but when things started to make sense for me it also started to make sense for her. So awesome.

2. THE CHARACTERS ARE AWESOME: Jessamin is kind of awesome. Yes, she was a bit stubborn and sometimes it just INFURIATED me, but at the same time I kind of understood where she was coming from. She really grew with the novel and I loved it. Finn was…wonderful. He had flaws, which I kind of liked. He wasn’t portrayed as completely perfect in every single way. You could see what kind of controlled his actions and he let that bite him in the butt sometimes. And Eleanor…we all need a friend like Eleanor. She is one of those people that will do whatever she can for the people she loves. She is severely underestimated by everyone, and I think she became my favorite character by the end.

3. SWOON: Yes, the romance. At first it worried me. Seeing this book compared to Cassandra Clare made me fear that the romance would turn out to kind of be creepy and I was NOT for that. Then as I read I worried that maybe it would be all Twilight and she would just succumb to whatever he wanted (Jessamin would kick Bella’s butt). It worked out so nicely. It was not forced, which is a HUGE. It felt like it was natural. It felt like it made sense. And it was one of those where I kind of wanted to scream at them to JUST TELL EACH OTHER WHAT IS HAPPENING AND DEAL WITH IT sort of thing.

Ugh, I just adored this book…so much. 

It amazes me just how many people have not read this yet, or have not been talking about it. It just feels like something that so many people would read and love (and it being a standalone really helps in a community that seems to be bogged down in a lot of different series). I would recommend this book to anyone that loves fantasy with a hint of historical fiction (or vice versa) or to anyone that wants a book you can just get lost in and have no further commitments to this world.

My rating: 4.5/5 Stars. 🙂

Have you read this book? What did you think? Or, if you haven’t, is this a book you would consider adding to your TBR?

4 thoughts on “Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White

  1. I. LOVED. THIS. BOOK. Seriously, the whole thing was just perfect for me! I kind of hate when I have books like that because my reviews become super swoony and fangirly. Your review made me go 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Best of 2015…so far… | Midwestern Book Nerd

Leave a Reply

