I’M STILL HERE I SWEAR!

“In 2015, I’d like to blog more” – Me.

Yeaaaaa, so far I’ve been failing at that. But I think for good reason. One of my things is that I don’t want this blog to become vent central, where I talk about all the problems I have in life and sob while typing and hope that it makes me feel better just to type it out. I’ve done that. My angsty Xanga years are in the past, and I’d like to move past that. So because of this reason I have no really said much on here in fear that I’d end up venting. I’ve got a lot going on right now in my life, and I’m not doing so hot. Trying but failing, a lot. And we’re only 12 days into the new year, so I figured why not just do nothing until I cheer up. Sadly, cheering up has not happened…but I think I can separate those feelings from this blog at this point. If you want to talk feelings we sure can. I’m sure we can find each other on the internets and do so (facebook, twitter, goodreads?). Moving on.

So, this is mostly just a “What have I been doing so far in 2015” type of post. Because, minus feeling sorry for myself and trying to dig myself out of some sort of rut, I have read a few books (2 to be exact, which is quite a few for me at this point of the month…hoping that habit continues!). And I thought that I might as well share a little bit about them with you. 🙂

17904985Gates of Thread and Stone by Lori M Lee follows Kai, a young girl who with the crazy talent of manipulating the threads of time. Found by her “brother” Reev by the river at 8 years old, she knows little about the family she comes from or where this talent comes from. Together they live in the Labyrinth where they try their best to stay hidden and not draw the attention of those in power. After Reev disappears Kai vows to find him. This book follows the journey she (and her friend Avan…oh man) go on to find her brother and the many different things they discover along the way.
I must say, I almost gave up on this book. It’s not that it was bad at the beginning, but it wasn’t really holding my attention. Why? No clue. I am an incredibly distracted reader, and this obviously was not the only book that I had on hand that I could read at the time. I stuck with it though, and am not disappointed. I’ll try to keep this short, but I loved this. The writing is great. At first I struggled with it. It seems to come from the mind of this teenage girl, and because of that it not only flowed well but it painted such a picture of this world for me. Why that was hard for me to get used to I’m not sure, but once I adjusted it was amazing. Kai…Kai is fantastic. She is such a strong heroine that really does try to do things for herself, and succeeds. Her journey and her discoveries along the way fascinated me, and had me constantly turning the pages. And Avan….he was a bit swoon worthy. He was someone that had this shady past, but seemed to have hope of a less shady future, if that makes sense. He had goals and ambitions, and you can see him trying to change how people think of him. And the ending….AH! It was like I read what was happening, but I had to keep reading it to make sure it was happening. This was a great first read of 2015, filled with romance, twists and turns, and some awesome fantasy elements.
20306804On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road. (From the synopsis on GoodreadsFalling into Place by Amy Zhang deals with suicide, which can be such a tough subject. This book deals with suicide in a way that I never really see it dealt with. It shows you that ANYONE can be going through stuff like this.Liz is that popular girl. “Friends” with everyone with the power to make or break your reputation. In all honesty….Liz was a not so fabulous person. I kind of hated her. But I also hated that I hated her. The reason she was this way was because of her awful depression and her fear of reaching out.
This book takes you through a lot of the things Liz did, and how this suicide touches everyone in her life. This book was addicting. It just flowed so well and I never really noticed just how far into it I was until I had to stop. 100 pages would just fly by. This book made you feel for Liz. It made you feel for her friends. And it made you sit back and think about how you are treating people in your own life and what you can do in case any are in a Liz-like situation. It made me think about how I can make a difference just by being nice. It was good, though a tough subject that really can tug at the heartstrings of people. Worth the read. Worth the heartbreak.

Hmmm…what else have I done in 2015. Oh, I started a brand-spanking-new journal.10891556_10203586855453608_5956363532880473049_n

I got this awesome journal as a Christmas gift. My brother made it (yes…he made a good portion of my Christmas gift) and I just have been struggling with what to write in it. Again, don’t want to get angsty in it. After a lot of thinking and getting different ideas in from people I decided to make it my Gratitude journal. Each and every day I have to pick one thing I am thankful for. I may have repeats, it may get cheesy, but I think this is a good thing. I have struggled with a lot of stuff, and I think that sitting down each day and thinking of 1 thing (big or small) that I’m thankful for will really help me to be more positive about my thoughts. I definitely need this.

Other than that I’ve done done nothing but marathon Friends (THANKS NETFLIX!)

And with that I end this post. I swear I’ll be back soon. What have you all been up to? Read anything good lately? Watched anything amazing that I really should get on with? Anything you want to know about me that you don’t already? Trying to think of all kinds of things to get me to blog a little more regularly and would LOVE some input. 🙂

Adios!

Leave a Reply

