Looking Back at 2014

Well, I felt this post was a little necessary. As I look ahead to 2015 (which seems to happen this week!) I kind of started reflecting on the last year. To say 2014 has been rough would be an understatement. It has been filled with ups, but quite a few downs. And I know I’ve spent a lot of time frustrated and in tears, but there are some good things to look back on. And in this post I wanted to look back the good that has come out of this year. I hope that if I can start this next year out positive then maybe other things will look up too. So here are a few things I can look back on over the past year in a positive way.

10277302_10202175119761098_1548636023197652241_n
I met a giraffe in Wisconsin!

~I took a huge step and moved miles away from my hometown. I actually spent most of the last year living in an entirely different state. Has it been easy? NO! Not in the least. But I think it’s been good for me. I think I’ve learned to not rely on my family for everything. It’s been kind of a sink or swim type of year for me. Finances, jobs, getting used to a new area…it’s been hard. But I think I’ve grown up a lot and have become a little bit more independent. That and I can now become a cheese snob since I am in WI. Bonus, right?

~I think I have become even closer with my best friend. Yes, this point is a little cheesy, but it’s true. I think that I have gotten so much closer to my husband. I guess I didn’t realize that was possible because he and I are pretty close already, but having to go through all we have in the last year and not knowing a single person here has been so good for us. I think we’ve become even more open and honest with each other, and even though I have had such a hard time here I wouldn’t trade it for the world. He’s been so supportive of me and so helpful. Definitely a highlight from this year.

1509250_10203498916535190_6332030527308443229_n

~I have the greatest family ever. I know…I suck at talking. I suck at calling and emailing and whatnot. I’m the worst. No worries, I know it. And I try to be better, but it’s hard. Sorry. My family has been great. Everyone has been supportive of us as we moved all the way out here. They have been helpful in assisting me find a job (which is still a process) and haven’t been pushing me one way or the other. I love going home and spending time with them. Though, I hate how I can’t fit everything into one visit. It’s killing me that I had to cut some things over Christmas, and I feel so bad. Like I’ve offended someone or something. But even with that I am so blessed to have the family I do.

~I have THE BEST friends. Throughout this entire year they have been texting me and have been so helpful. They have been full of cheesy pep talks (which I love) and have done all that they can to distract me when necessary. They send me links of puppies playing or other ridiculous things that make me smile, and they are always there for me (in our group text message anyway). Words cannot describe how thankful I am for them, and I wish we could actually get together more often, but technology seems to be on our side. You guys are the greatest! (UHM! We have no picture of us three with MARGE! Unacceptable!)

1233372_10202175909940852_4671466556672964264_n

~ I have a job. Is it the greatest job in the world? No. Retail is not my thing. Not at all. But, it’s better than no job at all (which I have definitely dealt with this year). As far as retail goes, this is a pretty solid retail jobs. Selling shoes isn’t that bad. I have no clothes to fold or dressing rooms to clean, which is great. I’ve really worked on customer service skills and other things that will be helpful for me in the long run. I have a job. That is something to be thankful for, especially in a state that is not the best for jobs.

~My car! Seriously. I was really concerned that I would never be able to get a new car and that getting to work would be hard and trying to find a job would be nearly impossible because I wouldn’t be able to even go to interviews (if I get one). And it’s the newest car I’ve ever had. The nicest car I ever had. I love it.

~ I met my goodreads reading goal this year! Cheesy, I know, but it was an accomplishment. I actually read 10 more than I had anticipated. I kind of like the idea of challenging myself to read a certain number of books in a year because it pushes me to keep reading and keep finding books that hold my interest. I love it. And if I don’t make the goal for that year it doesn’t matter. Life happens and sometimes there’s less time for reading. But I like to challenge myself, and I am so glad I met my goal and then some this year.

2014 has not been easy on me by any means. But I think there are still some highs even with all the lows and if I don’t look at those highs then I’ll never be able to work on making 2015 better. I think that I’ve learned so much from this past year and I hope I can use that to do better. As for 2015, I do have some goals. Read more, find a job, and try to find the positives in all the negatives.

And now, to select what I should read next. I made a library trip today and spent some Christmas money (WHY CAN’T I FIND STATION ELEVEN ANYWHERE!?!? I might just have to get it for my nook).

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch is a book I’ve been looking forward to for awhile, and I am so pumped that they still had a copy left and that I could use my Christmas money for this book.

The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J Maas is something I NEED in my life. I need more Celaena in my life, and the wait for the next book may kill me. Glad they had this one too.

And then from the library I grabbed Splintered, Pawn, Gates of Thread and Stone, and I’ll Give You the Sun (I have been waiting sooooo long for a new Jandy Nelson book! The Sky is Everywhere was SO good.).

Now to decide what to read next. Any suggestions?

Happy end of 2014 all! Hope you all have a great start to the new year!

Leave a Reply

